Bacon Wrapped Tater Tots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
The people at the party who like bland food liked these. We dipped them in onion blossom dip. Those who prefer more developed tastes had the bacon wrapped water chestnuts I baked besides these. Still, I have made them now several times because people like them a lot! TIPS: 1) Do not pre-bake the tots. All I did is wrap them with the bacon and put in the fridge. When I could stick a toothpick through them, I was did so. 2) Make sure to turn them over 1/2 way through cooking. 3) Make sure the bacon is wrapped all the way around the tot (not center cut bacon, unless you use the whole piece) or the tot may fall apart. 4) I do not add the cheese...seems too messy for me! 5) Experiment with different flavors of bacon - they are all fun! 6) I line the cookie sheet with aluminum foil. 7) I bake these at a higher temp (400 - 450, depending on how hot your oven gets) so the bacon crisps. 8) Make sure to leave adequate space when baking any bacon wrapped appetizer. If you put them too close together, they will steam, and the bacon will not get crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Caffrey Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is an old one! I used to make these back in the 80's and everyone loved them. Very good with a spicy honey mustard sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Delicious! I made them a bit differently than the posted recipe. I didn't pre-cook the taters or bacon. I put the tater tots in the fridge for about 30 mins, just long enough so a toothpick would go through them. I then wrapped the tater tots in half-slices of bacon and secured them with wet toothpicks. I seasoned with lemon pepper and salt. I put them in the oven at 450 for 20 mins, flipping over 10 mins in. They're great dipped in maple syrup. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
These were really good! A little involved to make, but good! BUT, don't leave them in near as long as it says. The cheese completely melted and burned away. You probably only need to leave them in for 15 - 20 minutes because the tater tots and bacon are already pre-cooked a bit. Leaving them in for 30 minutes was just way too long for the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I am shocked that this recipe hasn't gotten better reviews. I made these for a New Years Eve party, and every single person who had them, loved them! And I continued to be asked to bring them to other parties, in which they gain even more fans. Sure, they are a little messy to make... but who doesn't love bacon, tater tots, and american cheese?!?! YUMMY!!!! If you find them too salty, then you may have to try a different bacon. Line the pan with aluminum foil to aid in clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I added jalapenos and now i can never go to a superbowl without making a ton of these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Very tasty. These were so good and they are easy to make but very time consuming. I did not want my cheese to melt out so I did not wrap it with the bacon. When the wrapped tots were done cooking I laid the piece of cheese on top of each wrapped tot and put them back into the oven long enough to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
A friend of our tries this recipe and I couldn't even make it thru 2 of them... so much salty flavor and bacon makes them a natural heart attack waiting to happen. Slightly lacked in flavor as well, perhaps a more flavorful cheese than american singles could help make this a 2-star snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. I omit the cheese and wrap a 1/3 slice of uncooked bacon around a mostly thawed tot! Comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Yum! This was an easy breakfast, to say the least. I followed other reviewers advice and used raw bacon and frozen hash browns instead of heating both up before wrapping. It took about 40 minutes to cook that way, with one flip to make sure the bacon was cooked all over. I also omitted the cheese in the baking process and put it on top. The taste was amazing! I didn't think it'd be spectacular for something so simple, but the bacon was juicy and crispy, the cheese was melted and creamy while the potatoes were soft and tender. It made for a great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States