Bacon Wrapped Tater Tots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This recipe is EXCELLENT. I made this for the super bowl and they were easy to make. People want the recipe when I describe it to them, without even trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Pretty good. I left the cheese out and just wrapped the tots with bacon. Made for Halloween after trick or treating and called them Goblin Toes. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. I omit the cheese and wrap a 1/3 slice of uncooked bacon around a mostly thawed tot! Comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Delicious! I made them a bit differently than the posted recipe. I didn't pre-cook the taters or bacon. I put the tater tots in the fridge for about 30 mins, just long enough so a toothpick would go through them. I then wrapped the tater tots in half-slices of bacon and secured them with wet toothpicks. I seasoned with lemon pepper and salt. I put them in the oven at 450 for 20 mins, flipping over 10 mins in. They're great dipped in maple syrup. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I am shocked that this recipe hasn't gotten better reviews. I made these for a New Years Eve party, and every single person who had them, loved them! And I continued to be asked to bring them to other parties, in which they gain even more fans. Sure, they are a little messy to make... but who doesn't love bacon, tater tots, and american cheese?!?! YUMMY!!!! If you find them too salty, then you may have to try a different bacon. Line the pan with aluminum foil to aid in clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I added jalapenos and now i can never go to a superbowl without making a ton of these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Very tasty. These were so good and they are easy to make but very time consuming. I did not want my cheese to melt out so I did not wrap it with the bacon. When the wrapped tots were done cooking I laid the piece of cheese on top of each wrapped tot and put them back into the oven long enough to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
You need to spray the baking sheet. The cheese melted everywhere and the bacon was still under cooked. They got ate anyhow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
The people at the party who like bland food liked these. We dipped them in onion blossom dip. Those who prefer more developed tastes had the bacon wrapped water chestnuts I baked besides these. Still, I have made them now several times because people like them a lot! TIPS: 1) Do not pre-bake the tots. All I did is wrap them with the bacon and put in the fridge. When I could stick a toothpick through them, I was did so. 2) Make sure to turn them over 1/2 way through cooking. 3) Make sure the bacon is wrapped all the way around the tot (not center cut bacon, unless you use the whole piece) or the tot may fall apart. 4) I do not add the cheese...seems too messy for me! 5) Experiment with different flavors of bacon - they are all fun! 6) I line the cookie sheet with aluminum foil. 7) I bake these at a higher temp (400 - 450, depending on how hot your oven gets) so the bacon crisps. 8) Make sure to leave adequate space when baking any bacon wrapped appetizer. If you put them too close together, they will steam, and the bacon will not get crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Caffrey Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
These were really good! A little involved to make, but good! BUT, don't leave them in near as long as it says. The cheese completely melted and burned away. You probably only need to leave them in for 15 - 20 minutes because the tater tots and bacon are already pre-cooked a bit. Leaving them in for 30 minutes was just way too long for the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States