Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Scrumptious. Followed the recipe exactly. This is my staple now when I need a yummy party appetizer. Melt in your mouth good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I made these but instead of just using brown sugar I put them in the slow cooker with 1 jar 16 oz of grape jelly, combined with 1 jar 8 oz of chili sauce. It was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I followed other reviewers suggestions by using center cut bacon and dipping it in brown sugar and then wrapping the smokey in the bacon in the brown sugar bowl. I wrapped them the night before and then left them sitting in a bowl overnight to make for quick cooking the next day. I followed another reviewers idea to cook them at 400 for 40 minutes and then broil the last 4 minutes...BAD IDEA. They looked really dark after 40 minutes! I would either cook them as the recipe recommends or higher heat for shorter time (seems obvious, I know, not sure what I was thinking). They tasted ok with the recipe as stated but then I put them in a pan with the juices that were left from them sitting in the bowl overnight along with 1/4 cup maple syrup as other reviewers recommended and they were MUCH better (the 1 star was taken off because they were a little bland before the addition of the maple syrup). The maple flavor definitely adds a lot. These were a big hit. Next time I'm going to be more careful about watching them while they are in the oven. I didn't use toothpicks because the bacon stuck to the smokies. After cooking, a FEW of them came unwrapped so I stuck toothpicks in them to hold the bacon on. Next time, I will use toothpicks on all of them because we set these out on a plate and people grabbed the ones with toothpicks first because they were easier to pick up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Yummy!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I've made these a number of times and there's never any left. The bacon can be a pain to cut in thirds and still wrap, sometimes I use a half or more than a third and use the remnants to make Franken-meat-candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
THIS IS SO HEAVENLY AND DELICIOUS!! I had to type in caps! It was my first time making it and it was really easy to make! I followed this whole recipe (and I used light brown sugar) except for the toothpicks. They were really not needed unless its food finger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Fixed this for a family gathering and it went fast. I wasn't a big fan of them but everyone else loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wisdom06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
It doesn't matter how many of these you make, they will all be eaten. There are no tips on how to improve this recipe, what to add, it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
so easy and so delicious! I made them for a party and they were gone before anything else. The only reason they don't get 5 stars is because of the nutrition value
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
After placing the wrapped dogs in a baking dish, drizzle bourbon over the dogs then maple syurp followed with sprinkled brown sugar. Bake until bacon starts to crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,088) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States