Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I love these! My boyfriend who is extremely picky loved these! The only thing I did different is I baked them on a broiler pan instead so the bacon fat could drip off and it could cook all the way through. I used a baking sheet once and the brown sugar stuck to the sheet so much that it almost didn't come off. Also, when I used the sheet the bacon didn't crisp enough for my taste. All in all, Ive been using this recipe for about a year now and its obviously a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJHavoc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I have always disliked cocktail wieners but this recipe converted me. This is my new go to party recipe. I had two packages of cocktail wieners so I cut the bacon in fourths, was able to make 1.5 bags this way. Maybe I did something wrong but I didn't find a need to use toothpicks at all, just laid the smokies down seam side and used the same amount of brown sugar. Putting them in the slow cooker seemed to finish the bacon to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Excellent!!! My husband flipped for these, now he wants them every weekend & who am I kidding, so do I!!! I did bake mine on racks in the pan so they were not swimming in grease. When I put mine in the crockpot I did not want to pour the drippings from the pan over them (a friend did that & the results were really greasy) and I was afraid syrup would make them too sweet, so I poured a can of Pepsi in with them to keep them moist. WOW, really added some flavor without being too greasy. I think hubby would give them 10 stars, can't wait to make a batch for the next potluck at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I put the pack of smokies in a bowl first and let them marinade in brown sugar then wrap them in maple bacon and cover them in more Brown sugar to cook. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Made these Xmas Eve - they were gone in a flash! I will be making these again! Made a horseradish dip to go with them - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I've made these for years, and they always disappear. When the kids were younger, they'd be running in every 5 minutes or so with 'are they done yet?'. I know they're a decadent treat, and I usually resist the desserts and hi-cal stuff, but I can't resist sneaking one of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These little guys have been well recieved at every party we bring them, in fact they are in high demand! They work great for potlucks, I can put them in a mini crock pot and they keep just fine, and are gone by the end of the event - If they aren't the first to disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delish, and doesn't take 1 hour and 30 min. Great football season snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisbuzz4u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious, but a lot of work! At every family function they are the first thing to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These were a HUGE hit at my Christmas Open House. One of my sons renamed it "Meat Candy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookbookangie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,080) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States