Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made these to take along to a Christmas Luncheon, the women did not even get a look in, the men made straight for them. I stuck to the recipe as given, only difference was I used what in New Zealand we call Cocktail Sausages which are Pork based as we can't buy 'wieners'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Huge hit and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These are a favorite at get togethers, they are always what goes first, and people always ask me if Im bringing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Based on reviews, I took a risk and made this for an orientation meeting for a ladies group. There was a buffet table full of appetizers but my crock pot was empty by the time I got to it! Imagine if there were men in the room!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Served these for New Years, we all enjoyed them. Once we put them in the slow cooker, I added a tiny bit of BBQ sauce to keep them moist. They didn't last an hour among 15 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
These were delicious, but it was SO MESSY it almost wasn't worth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made these for New Years Eve family at home celebration. They were okay. I think my son liked them more than I did. It took a while for the bacon to get crispy enough (maybe 5 additional minutes) and I did use a little less sugar than called for. Used regular little all beef wieners instead of smoked so maybe I would have liked it better with little smokies;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I love these! My boyfriend who is extremely picky loved these! The only thing I did different is I baked them on a broiler pan instead so the bacon fat could drip off and it could cook all the way through. I used a baking sheet once and the brown sugar stuck to the sheet so much that it almost didn't come off. Also, when I used the sheet the bacon didn't crisp enough for my taste. All in all, Ive been using this recipe for about a year now and its obviously a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJHavoc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I have always disliked cocktail wieners but this recipe converted me. This is my new go to party recipe. I had two packages of cocktail wieners so I cut the bacon in fourths, was able to make 1.5 bags this way. Maybe I did something wrong but I didn't find a need to use toothpicks at all, just laid the smokies down seam side and used the same amount of brown sugar. Putting them in the slow cooker seemed to finish the bacon to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Excellent!!! My husband flipped for these, now he wants them every weekend & who am I kidding, so do I!!! I did bake mine on racks in the pan so they were not swimming in grease. When I put mine in the crockpot I did not want to pour the drippings from the pan over them (a friend did that & the results were really greasy) and I was afraid syrup would make them too sweet, so I poured a can of Pepsi in with them to keep them moist. WOW, really added some flavor without being too greasy. I think hubby would give them 10 stars, can't wait to make a batch for the next potluck at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,077) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States