Bacon Wrapped Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Simple and easy. Will make again. The shrimp underneath could use a little bit of seasoning though before wrapping in bacon. Perhaps some lemon butter or just a little bit of pepper or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Da Rel Chef
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I tried this recipe over the weekend, but I put my own twist on it. I smoked them on the grill using apple wood chip in indirect heat. They look and taste picture perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Da Rel Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Try soaking your shrimp in Apricot jelly in a ziplock baggy overnight, or for a few hours, then wrap and grill! Its my favorite summer appitizer, or serve the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
So simple and yummy. I added a half leaf of fresh basil to every shrimp before wrapping with partially cooked bacon. I had an 80 year old man tell me it was the best shrimp he has ever tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
DELICIOUS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
tried this recipes with modification and it was AWESOME! I used the large "prawn" shrimp and in the curve of the shrimp I placed a chunk of pineapple, then wrapped thin sliced bacon around and placed on skewer. The pineapple added flavor to the shrimp and provided a little moisture to keep the bacon and shrimp from drying out to fast. Tonight I am attempting to stuff shrimp with a cream cheese and then wrapping in bacon... will let you all know how that turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Sometimes the most simpliest things are the best! Shrimp and bacon are one of my family's favorite things to eat so I knew this combination would be a hit with them. I just partially cook the entire package of bacon slices in the oven using, "Bacon for a Family or a Crowd," from this website. I then cut them into 1/3's and used it to wrap around the shrimp securing them with toothpicks. Cooking them in the oven was a breeze since shrimp cooks fast. After the first couple of minutes, I turned it over to cook the other side for another 3 minutes until it was done. Since I did not want a tough or rubbery shrimp, I took it out as soon as I saw the shrimp turn pink/orange in color indicating to me that it was cooked. Bacon already has so much flavor and so it adds a lot of natural seasoning to the shrimp while it bakes in the oven. I didn't even have to ask anyone if they liked the shrimp because they were all gone in a matter of seconds! I served this with, "Green Rice III," and "Carrots in Dill Butter," all from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Heart-Healthy Recipe: I made this tonight with the recommendation of using garlic and butter to season the shrimp, but I did substitute the butter with 3 T. Smart Balance melted with 1 t. garlic powder for 40 large shrimp. This was a great ratio. Also I substituted low fat turkey bacon for the bacon, and as many mentioned, I did cook the bacon slightly. But seeing as how, turkey bacon crisps quickly, I made sure not to fully cook it before wrapping the shrimp. Keep it soft and mailable so as to wrap the shrimp. Then I cooked the bacon-wrapped shrimp on my George Forman, at 400 degrees for five minutes. They were delicious and perfect, not chewy or rubbery. Even my picky four-year old loved them! With these changes, these are healthy enough to eat as the main protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
very good:) We eat turkey bacon so that's what I used and I put them on skewers so I didn't have to worry about them falling through the grill and they were easy to flip! Will definitely be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I used the precooked bacon available, and they turned out perfectly. Just keep a close eye on them so they don't burn, don't take long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States