Bacon Wrapped Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
My dad showed me how to make this recipe. It is really good you should try dipping the shrimp in melted butter mixed with garlic powder before wrapping in bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
Try cooking the bacon a little before wrapping around the shrimp. This way you can be sure the bacon is fully cooked when the shrimp are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
YUMMY!! I precooked the bacon in the microwave. I cut the strips in half and wrapped them around the shrimp, securing the bacon with a toothpick. Cooking them was a bit tricky. I had the shrimp in a throw away foil pan on the grill with loads of butter and garlic powder. I let the shrimp cook a bit in the pan then put them on the grill for a few minutes. I had to be careful that the shrimp was cooked through under the bacon, but didn't want them to over cook. It is a dish you need time to focus on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
It is imperative that you partially cook the bacon before wrapping the shrimp to cook. The bacon will not be done. If you cook the bacon until done, the shrimp are WAY over cooked. I sprinkled my favorite seasonings over the shrimp before I wrapped and grilled them then served them with melted butter. I gave this only 3 stars because the recipe as written, as I stated, over cooks the shrimp. I used jumbo shrimp and they were large enough for a whole strip of partially cooked bacon. When the shrimp were done, the bacon was grilled to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Absolutely awesome appetizer! I served these for New Years' Eve, and everyone loved them! I chose to cook them under the broiler in my oven instead of grilling. To prevent burning the bacon or drying out the shrimps, I placed them as far below the broiler as the oven would allow. This allowed the bacon to cook thoroughly...I turned them a couple of times, too. Wonderful! I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I did not read the reviews before trying this out. In hindsight, yes, I think if the bacon was precooked a bit, it might be nice (I hate rubbery bacon, ew) But, I did cook it according to the directions, and if you use a thin-sliced bacon, on a hot grill, it did turn out wonderful and they were all gobbled up at my barbeque. ALSO- I did not use full slices of bacon, I cut them in half! But make sure they fit around the size of shrimp you use before cutting them all, you don't want to cut them too short and waste with the bacon not fitting! Very popular and I will definitely make again! I also tossed the shrimp with some terriaki sauce and marinaded 1/2 hour beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Pietrosanti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I thought that the bacon overpowered the shrimp. we used larger shrimp, and the bacon was not done when the shrimp were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
It's important that you partially pre-cook the bacon before grilling. Very tasty and easy to make, but next time I think I'll marinate the shrimp in a lemon/tequila mixture first for a little added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Great idea, but the bacon needs to be slow cooked until edible (but flexible) before wrapping the shrimp or else the shrimp will overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
I MADE THIS RECIPE ONCE FOR A CLASS PROJECT AND I REALLY LIKE IT I'LL MAKE IT AGAIN WHEN I CATER ANOTHER PARTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States