Bacon Wrapped Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Great recipe. The only thing I do differently is marinate the shrimp in italian dressing before you wrap them with bacon. I cook them on the George Foreman grill and if you get it hot before you put them on - it only takes about 3 or 4 minutes for these to be done. This is one of my favorite meals and a favorite of the family too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
mmm....mmm...mmm! What more can I say!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Good stuff. I did marinate the shrimp in a garlic basil butter and then wrap the shrimp. I also partically cooked the bacon. (Good thing because it was barely done when the shrimp was cooked.) You don't want to overcook shrimp because it becomes rubbery. Thanks for the recipe idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This is a great recipe. For an extra zing try cutting the back of the shrimp and inserting some horseradish. Then wrap in bacon and cook in garlic butter on the grill in aluminum pie plate. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
It is imperative that you partially cook the bacon before wrapping the shrimp to cook. The bacon will not be done. If you cook the bacon until done, the shrimp are WAY over cooked. I sprinkled my favorite seasonings over the shrimp before I wrapped and grilled them then served them with melted butter. I gave this only 3 stars because the recipe as written, as I stated, over cooks the shrimp. I used jumbo shrimp and they were large enough for a whole strip of partially cooked bacon. When the shrimp were done, the bacon was grilled to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Absolutely awesome appetizer! I served these for New Years' Eve, and everyone loved them! I chose to cook them under the broiler in my oven instead of grilling. To prevent burning the bacon or drying out the shrimps, I placed them as far below the broiler as the oven would allow. This allowed the bacon to cook thoroughly...I turned them a couple of times, too. Wonderful! I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
My dad showed me how to make this recipe. It is really good you should try dipping the shrimp in melted butter mixed with garlic powder before wrapping in bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
It's important that you partially pre-cook the bacon before grilling. Very tasty and easy to make, but next time I think I'll marinate the shrimp in a lemon/tequila mixture first for a little added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I thought that the bacon overpowered the shrimp. we used larger shrimp, and the bacon was not done when the shrimp were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States