Bacon Wrapped Pork Medallions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Tom  Hansen
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Excellent! I had not seasoned salt on hand so used Zatarain's Creole Seasoning instead. This got a "do-again" rating from my wife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom  Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Delicious! And the boyfriend loved it! Mine didn't turn out the prettiest, but I just need to practice wrapping my bacon. :P New favorite? I think yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I made this on a school night for the family. I followed this recipe exactly using thick sliced bacon by Smithfield. I'll make it again with a few variations. The tenderloin will be marinated in Italian dressing and I'll omit the salt. This will ensure flavor throughout the pork. Also, I'll put this on the grill. Overall it was delicious and the kids loved having bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERYNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This recipe has become a staple in my house. Everyone loves it! Whenever I ask my husband what he feels like eating during the week this is what he asks for. I pair it with Green Bean Casserole and it is wonderful! I've seen someone say this takes more than an hour, I can do it from start to finish in 45 minutes and I think it is worth it. We NEVER have any to throw away at the end of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Wow! Great recipe and easily adapts to your favorite herb blend or rub. I didn't read the recipe carefully enough and cut my tenderloin into one inch medalions before wrapping with bacon. In hind sight, that might be easier than wrapping it whole. I also cooked these on the grill over medium/high heat. Have tried pre-cooking the bacon as well as just wrapping it raw. On the grill, the bacon crisps up nicely, so I don't bother with pre-cooking any more. Makes this a really quick, easy meal! I love finding awesome basic recipes that are so easily tweaked to taste. Great job, Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made this last night and it was a hit - I followed the recipe except for the seasoned salt and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was great. I kept the bacon grease and browned the pork in that, it was a little low so I added butter. I added bread cumbs to the seasoning. I covered the pork in Dijon mustard then rolled it in the bread cumbs seasoning mix, added bacon and in the pan, then into the oven. It is a keeper!! Nothing could be better mustard bacon and pork!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Fabulous recipe... so flavorful with minimal ingredients and prep/cook time. Pork dries out so easily but this was moist and delicious. I doubled the spices and that was just about enough for 2 lbs of tenderloin. You may want to taste the spice rub and adjust for salt depending on how salty you want it. I may try with thick cut, lower sodium bacon next time around. Try it, you won't be disappointed! Served with roasted potato, carrot, brussel sprouts and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Full of flavor and very tender. I will be making this again. Its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
While I found these to be "OK," my husband seemed to really like them (go figure!). Despite browning my medallions in bacon grease AND in oil / butter, I found them to be very bland. Having said this, I think using more robust spices would make ALL the difference (i.e. rosemary, thyme, marjoram - typical spices used to season pork). NOTE: After pan frying my medallions, they were nearly 145 degrees BEFORE I popped them in the oven!!! It will NOT take 17-20 minutes for your pork to reach the suggested temperature (which, btw, is a *tad* too underdone for my liking...). My pork reached 170 degrees (well done) in under 10 minutes!!! It's obvious that the cooking time frame is COMPLETELY off. Stuffing, green beans and dinner rolls completed our meal. All in all, this was a decent, but not special enough to make again. Thanks anyways, Eve. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States