Bacon Wrapped Pesto Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Better & juicier with boneless chicken thighs, plus a few extra calories for more flavor doesn't scare me. I used olive oil as a substitute for the vegetable oil and I also spread ricotta cheese on the thighs first, then spread the pesto sauce over that before rolling it up in bacon. Was really marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Fabulous recipe. I did take the suggestion of several previous reviewers and added a mixture of Italian cheeses -- parmesan, romano, mozzarella-- about 2 tsp. to each flattened piece of chicken breast. I also partially cooked the bacon in the microwave before wrapping it around each pesto-stuffed piece and then peppered the rolled chicken before placing it on an olive-oil covered baking sheet in a 400-degree oven. Like other reviewers, I also placed it on broil for about the last 3 minutes of cooking. These were perfect. Yummy and a definite do-again. The wonderful smell permeated the house and made it smell like an Italian restaurant. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
really enjoyed this, i partially cooked some turkey bacon in the microwave, with paper towells, soaking the little grease that turkey bacon has, but still limp, wrapped 2 strips of bacon on a half chicken breast, had pre made pesto, added shredded phamaszn chz, and a little grated swiss that i had on hand, pounded chicken to 1/2 inch rolled it up, put on a rack at 350 for about half hr, used meat thermomater, ovens vary, so check temp of chicken, it could be done sooner or later, the turkey bacon was crisp, with out the soggy ness, of placing them flat on a sheet pan, loved this, will make again, maybe on sunday 1-2 times a month, thanx for the recepie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was a great recipe; I will make it again. Only issue was that I felt the chicken was a little over cooked but I worried I made have had some user error involved so I'll try it again! I love simple recipes and this was super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I was excited to make this and had all the ingredients on hand. It was pretty messy to make. After the chicken were wrapped, I placed them in a baking dish. Didn't use the oil since bacon already has enough fat. Baked it and then broiled it for 3-5 minutes to crisp the bacon. I didn't like the fact that the chicken was swimming in 1/4 inch of bacon fat, even though I used lean strips of bacon. It should state to place a cooling or baking rack to elevate the chicken so it doesn't drown in the fat. After draining, we ate it with rice. To my surprise, it was pretty bland. Something was missing, I don't know what but I don't think I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by golddigge
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Great recipe we just loved it Thanks .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by golddigge

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I used Serrano ham not bacon. I marinaded the chicken breasts overnight coated in pesto and wrapped in cling film in the fridge. Into the oven with a little olive oil, salt and pepper. 180º for about 20 mins. Delicious moist and scrummy. Served it with a tray of oven roasted aubergines, Vine tomatoes and garlic. 8/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was pretty basic but good!! I did make some modifications. Added garlic powder, mozerella cheese and paparika. Used sun-dried tomoato pesto (its what I had). Baked at 375 for 25 mins then broiled for 5 mins. Bacon was crispy and delicious. Just though 400 was too high for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Delicious!! I added more bacon, mozzarella and parmesean cheese. I broiled the last 5 minutes for crispy bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Changed the recipe for my family because a half a chicken breast seemed like an appetizer... One whole chicken breast, wrapped in two pieces of bacon... cooked for 30 minutes and then broiled on high for 5 minutes to make the bacon extra crispy. turned out sooooo delicious! Thanks for sharing with a novice chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States