Bacon Wrapped Pesto Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Sonia
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Made this last night....I did not use the oil. I know one review said that it was very messy to make, not the case at all. I'm not sure how she went about it but if they gave us every tiny detail then we wouldn't be good cooks now would we. I made my own pesto using raw pine nuts, olive oil, garlic, parmessan cheese and of course fresh basil- just eyeball it to get the correct taste and consistency. I think that was the trick for me. I used 1/2 a breast and pounded with the spike side of my pampered chef tenderizer on both sides of the chicken. The pesto spread easily with a small rubber spatula, I added just a tiny bit of salt and fresh cracked pepper, rolled it and then wrapped the bacon and then a little more cracked pepper on top-keep in mind bacon is already salty you don't want to over do it. I placed it on an elevated rack so the fat could drip down and baked for 20 minutes at 350 and then about 18 minutes more at 400. This kept the breasts moist and made the bacon crispy. Again, I'm not sure why another complaint was about the bacon not being crispy. If you look at my photo you can clearly see it is cooked crispy enough. We paired it with a simple salad but this would be great served over noodles with a touch of olive oil, garlic and parmessan or over a bed of garlic mash....it's a simple dish packed with good flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Delicious. I took the advice of a couple reviewers and added garlic powder and Parmesan cheese to the chicken. I used pre-cooked bacon (two slices for each) and it was nice and crispy without the broiler. Try the recipe on this site for homemade Basil Pecan Pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was a great recipe and easy to modify for your own tastes. I added some shredded mozzarella cheese over the pesto sauce to give it a little extra something and did not use any oil - it just wasn't necessary. I put the rolls up on a rack on a pan and cooked at 400 for 30 minutes then flipped them over and broiled for another 5 minutes to cook the bacon on the other side. Next time I would only cook for 25 minutes before broiling though. All in all, a great recipe that my husband and kids enjoyed too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
My husband and I just love this recipe, my dogs even loved it! (they only get a taste)The chicken was juicy and the pesto was just right. Went very well with baby spinach salad with italian vinegrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Better & juicier with boneless chicken thighs, plus a few extra calories for more flavor doesn't scare me. I used olive oil as a substitute for the vegetable oil and I also spread ricotta cheese on the thighs first, then spread the pesto sauce over that before rolling it up in bacon. Was really marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Fabulous recipe. I did take the suggestion of several previous reviewers and added a mixture of Italian cheeses -- parmesan, romano, mozzarella-- about 2 tsp. to each flattened piece of chicken breast. I also partially cooked the bacon in the microwave before wrapping it around each pesto-stuffed piece and then peppered the rolled chicken before placing it on an olive-oil covered baking sheet in a 400-degree oven. Like other reviewers, I also placed it on broil for about the last 3 minutes of cooking. These were perfect. Yummy and a definite do-again. The wonderful smell permeated the house and made it smell like an Italian restaurant. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
really enjoyed this, i partially cooked some turkey bacon in the microwave, with paper towells, soaking the little grease that turkey bacon has, but still limp, wrapped 2 strips of bacon on a half chicken breast, had pre made pesto, added shredded phamaszn chz, and a little grated swiss that i had on hand, pounded chicken to 1/2 inch rolled it up, put on a rack at 350 for about half hr, used meat thermomater, ovens vary, so check temp of chicken, it could be done sooner or later, the turkey bacon was crisp, with out the soggy ness, of placing them flat on a sheet pan, loved this, will make again, maybe on sunday 1-2 times a month, thanx for the recepie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was a great recipe; I will make it again. Only issue was that I felt the chicken was a little over cooked but I worried I made have had some user error involved so I'll try it again! I love simple recipes and this was super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I was excited to make this and had all the ingredients on hand. It was pretty messy to make. After the chicken were wrapped, I placed them in a baking dish. Didn't use the oil since bacon already has enough fat. Baked it and then broiled it for 3-5 minutes to crisp the bacon. I didn't like the fact that the chicken was swimming in 1/4 inch of bacon fat, even though I used lean strips of bacon. It should state to place a cooling or baking rack to elevate the chicken so it doesn't drown in the fat. After draining, we ate it with rice. To my surprise, it was pretty bland. Something was missing, I don't know what but I don't think I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by golddigge
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Great recipe we just loved it Thanks .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by golddigge

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States