Bacon Wrapped New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
These were pretty tasty and would make them again next time without the ranch dressing mix. It made them a little too salty. Next time I will roll in garlic olive oil and wrap in the bacon. Depending on the size of your potatoes you might need more bacon. I did par boil my potatoes - cooled and then wrapped them in bacon. They can be made ahead and stored in the refrigerator. They are a bit fiddley to assemble - but easy and fast to grill. Keep your eye on them though so they don't go up in flames! *** Yes, these can be done in the oven. Might make for a tasty appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These were DELISH! Everyone loved them. We used turkey bacon and wrapped the entire slice of bacon a round it. A little piece of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
amazing. I added a little garlic and onion powder and some pepper. cooked on a charcoal grill. to die for.I will make these again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Loved it!!! My whole family enjoyed them. They were very simple. I read the other reviews but I didn't think it was neccessary to "pre-cook" the bacon. It cooked up beautifully! Next time I will add garlic...a new family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bszostak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I used fingerling potatoes instead and they wrapped so well! Then basted in bbq sauce for the extra zing! perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Absolutely fabulous sprinkled dampened potatoes with garlic pepper blend then wrapped on the bacon......hubby ignored his steak for over 5 mins. And that says alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very tasty and so easy. I did make some small changes. I used a full strip of bacon for each potato and also used small red potatoes. I followed another reviewer’s suggestion of not using the ranch dressing. I was doing other things and not watching them closely which caused me to burn some of the potatoes, but they were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These were so good. I used reduced sodium bacon which was very thin. I didn't use the ranch, instead I added pepper, dried chives and granulated garlic. Also, I baked them at 400 and the bacon was crispy. Avoid my mistake--I tried to put the toothpicks through the edge of the potatoes at first which resulted in broken off, embedded toothpicks--oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
HAW - thank you for sharing this recipe. It is a great addition to any meat being cooked on the grill. I served these with the Recipe Group choice this week - Marinated Flank Steak with Peppers. These were so delicious - family loved them. And, they were easy to make. I put on metal skewers rather than the toothpicks. It worked great. Already thinking ahead to when I can make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I fixed this recipe with some minor additions and it was a huge hit. I added garlic powder, black pepper and Mrs. Dash Spicy seasoning. I would recommend using 1/2 strip of bacon rather than 1/3. I wrapped fingerling potatoes and 1/3 was not enough bacon to fully wrap. It also took longer to grill than 20-30 minutes... more like 40 minnutes, they were placed on a veggie grill tray rather than directly on the grill. Hard to turn with toothpicks. While I'm no longer a big bacon eater, I would still make this one again. Delicious and it got lots of positive comments from the party-goers last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States