Bacon Wrapped New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I love this recipe but I tweaked it just a little. Although the Ranch dressing on the potatoes sounds great, I skipped this part all together. I did not dress the potatoes but I did sauté them in a little butter and oil then once they were browned a little I sprinkled them with some black pepper and onion powder and drained them on papper towel. I then wrapped them in the bacon an threw them in the oven for about 25 minutes until the bacon was cooked, browned and a little crispy. The potatoes were nice and soft and fluffy inside; their skins were a little crispy because I had already browned them first before I wrapped them in bacon. They were gone in seconds after being put out on the table! Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Easy and delicious! I did par boil, then bake the potatoes instead of putting them on the grill. After baking I broil them for a few minutes to crisp the bacon. I used thinly sliced bacon, which made wrapping easy. The thin bacon also crisped well. I used fingerling yukon golds. My personal favorite. The sweetness of the potato really worked with the ranch. I noticed quite a few people changed up the spices. I wouldn't. I think this is a wonderful dish, spiced perfectly! The family loved it! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Mine went up in flames. Medium heat. I should have read the reviews first. Don't think I'll try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Love, love these little bites of heaven! I made these in the oven and because I strongly dislike ranch I tosses them with pepper, garlic and italian seasoning. I forgot to watch the time and left them in about an hour so the bacon was nice and crunchy and the potatoes were creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I melted butter in garlic in a sauce pan. Put in some fingerling potatoes & stirred. I did not cook the potatoes. Let them cool in the butter then wrapped them in bacon. Grilled slow on the grill & they were delicious! The garlic & butter gave them the flavor I was looking for. The bacon was crisp. I dipped them in light sour cream. I will make them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
potatoes + bacon ..... like how could one go wrong ? I'm thinking some blue cheese dipping sauce may be in order for this .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I made a simple change with the Ranch mix which added more Ranch flavor to the potatoes themselves rather than mainly flavoring the bacon. I poked the skins of freshly washed red potatoes really well, sprinkled the Ranch mix to taste directly on the still damp skins so the flavor would soak directly in to the potatoes and then wrapped with the bacon. Thank you for a fun and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this recipe tonight.. It was a hit. I used baby red potatoes. Boiled them in the skins for approx 5 minutes then cooled. Wrapped each baby potato with half a slice of bacon and finished in the oven at 450 for approx 30 min... or until bacon is as crispy as you like. I did not use the dry mix, just potatoes and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
make sure to grill it on low - we used metal skewers which helped too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
We liked these better without the ranch dressing. Next time I make them I am going to make my own seasoning mix to sprinkle on them and some parmesan cheese. I would also precook the potatoes before grilling. The options are endless with these, they make a great side or an app.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States