Bacon Wrapped New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very tasty and so easy. I did make some small changes. I used a full strip of bacon for each potato and also used small red potatoes. I followed another reviewer’s suggestion of not using the ranch dressing. I was doing other things and not watching them closely which caused me to burn some of the potatoes, but they were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
HAW - thank you for sharing this recipe. It is a great addition to any meat being cooked on the grill. I served these with the Recipe Group choice this week - Marinated Flank Steak with Peppers. These were so delicious - family loved them. And, they were easy to make. I put on metal skewers rather than the toothpicks. It worked great. Already thinking ahead to when I can make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These were DELISH! Everyone loved them. We used turkey bacon and wrapped the entire slice of bacon a round it. A little piece of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
amazing. I added a little garlic and onion powder and some pepper. cooked on a charcoal grill. to die for.I will make these again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Absolutely fabulous sprinkled dampened potatoes with garlic pepper blend then wrapped on the bacon......hubby ignored his steak for over 5 mins. And that says alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These were so good. I used reduced sodium bacon which was very thin. I didn't use the ranch, instead I added pepper, dried chives and granulated garlic. Also, I baked them at 400 and the bacon was crispy. Avoid my mistake--I tried to put the toothpicks through the edge of the potatoes at first which resulted in broken off, embedded toothpicks--oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I made these for a Labor Day party and changed up a few things, but frankly this is a winning combo that would be hard to mess up. I made about 75 for the party (they were gone within 1 hour) so I ended up baking them in my oven. Just too many for the grill. I used baby golden potatoes that I poked with a fork after washing. and placed in a large zip lock back with vandalia onion dressing, fresh ground pepper, a splash of evoo and let sit overnight in the fridge. I wrapped the potatoes with thick cut bacon (tucked the ends on the underside) from GFS (my fav) in the morning and again placed back in the fridge until I was ready to bake. This helped the bacon to set around the potatoe nicely without using toothpicks. I baked them at 400 for about 45 minutes and they were perfect. I served with a side bowl of 'Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sauce" Next time I might sprinkle with some finely shredded cheddar cheese at the very end of baking, or maybe try these with a bit of brown sugar sprinked on top when rolling up, and just before placing back in the fridge. As I said, this is just one of those recipes that whatever you do, it will be great tasting, and make you look like a wonder in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bricks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
mmmmmmmmmmm good fast and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Great idea for entertaining! I adapted this recipe by cooking my potatoes in the oven at 375 for about 35 minutes or until the potatoes were soft. I also cut a sweet potato into 1 inch thick pieces and wrapped a whole strip of bacon around it. The sweet potato won on the taste test! I also sprinkled fresh rosemary and sage over the bacon wrapped potatoes which added a nice flavor and smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Made this and they were delicious. I used the cheaper store brand bacon which was fattier and I think the fat really soaked into the potatoes making them delicious. I had to cook them a little longer, more like 40 minutes because I had the heat too low but they still came out fantastic. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States