Bacon Wrapped Hotdogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
too much work & not that great of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Were a huge hit at the BBQ I took them too. Followed what others said and left the top off for the last hour, and only did one layer so they all got cooked, I will try to cook more next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I've made these at many a get-together & they are always a hit. For faster cooking, I bake them in the oven for an hour at 375 degrees. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.leonard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This is a great recipe. I make it for every Super Bowl party. Once, I had made about 100 of the little guys, and they were almost all gone by the middle of the first quarter - they're always a big hit. Mine differs in that I add ketchup to the brown sugar and bake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Good,but more for a fun kids party snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Mine didn't turn out so good, but then I used leftover pre-cooked hotdogs and stuck them in the oven instead of the slow cooker... still, my boyfriend ate about half of them. They have a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
A tasty but problematic recipe. These were soooo yummy but UGLY UGLY UGLY! They were so ugly in fact that we kept them for ourselves instead of bringing them to the party they were intented for. 2nd, you can't actually make enough for a party appetizer. These only work well when cooked in a slow cooker in a single layer. The ones on top didn't do well at all. I have a very large slow cooker and could fit only 25 in a single layer, which isn't enough for a party. Finally, it's very important - and another reviewer mentioned this as well - to leave the lidd off for about the last hour so the bacon won't be AS MUCH of a soggy mess. But, no matter what, they'll still be ugly and soggy. However, these were so very yummy and I will make them occasionally just as a treat for my husband and I, or if we have one or two people over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I have made these for years, but I called them "Pig Dogs". Always a hit at every get together. I always get requests to bring this dish, and it is so simple that I always comply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I will make this over and over. Thanks for the great recipe. The idea of removing the lid of crockpot for the last hour to crisp the bacon is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
These little gems were fabulous! My son (age 8) helped me make them for the Super Bowl. They were simple to make and delicious to eat! Definately will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Chocolate-Covered Bacon Strips

How do you make bacon even better? Add chocolate, of course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States