Bacon-Wrapped Grilled Elk Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My husband and I made this, but on the suggestion of a friend also added brewed coffee to rid the elk of any gamey taste. It worked! There was no foffee taste either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Oh, this recipe is so wonderful! I used pieces of the hams rather than the loin because that was what I grabbed out of the freezer. Also, the pieces of elk I used were about the size of a deck of cards and about 3/4 inches thick. I also didn't have to soak the meat to rid it of a gamey flavor (we hang the meat for two weeks before cutting it up to remove the gamey flavor). For this recipe, I doubled everything (except the elk and bacon), placed it all in a zip lock bag, and marinated it over night. It smelled wonderful in the marinade! I then skewered the steaks with a piece of bacon. I opted not to wrap each piece of meat with bacon so as to lower the calorie and fat content. I served the meat with a side of garlic mashed potatoes and it was wonderful! I'm going to try this recipe with our antelope next. Just a note, I was concerned about there not being any added salt in the recipe, but with the liquid smoke, worcestershire sauce and bacon, it wasn't needed. Wonderful recipe that I will use again and again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ranchwife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alturas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
WOW! This was delicious. I did as another suggested and defrosted my meat in coffee. Yeah, no gamey taste. My son had a friend over and he was like a little eating machine commenting on how his moms never tasted this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Excellent! My husband and I marinated the meat overnight in the seasonings and then added grape tomatoes, bell peppers and onions to the skewers. We will definately be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Excellent! Incredibly easy recipe, and every ingredient complements each other. I made this for my Dad with his elk and we used the tenderloin and followed the directions exactly. The only thing we did differently is cook on medium high for less time and it all came out medium to medium well. In hindsight, for a good medium rare I would cook on medium for about five minutes or less each side, just until the bacon is nice and crispy. We both loved it and will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
My family thought I was a gourmet! Highly recommended! Works with moose, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
great stuff will do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
My family LOVED this! They are not big on marinades or to many seasonings that mast the true flavor of the meat. This recipe enhanced the natural flavor of the elk and added just the right amount of spices. It's January in MN- so I broiled it in the oven. I can't wait to try this recipe over an open flame!! Thanks- definitely a "do-over"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sartell, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Excellent recipe. I'm very new to cooking/eating elk, and this is something I can do easily. I served it with carrot salad and rolls, and it was a great summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have done these cut as medallions also and if you can't use a grill you can pan sear them for 3-4 minutes (depending on preferred how done you like them) a side and finish them right in the same pan in a 450 oven for 4 more minutes. I like to make them even a little more gourmet by topping them with bleu cheese crumbles while finishing in the oven...nice recipe enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States