Bacon-Wrapped Grilled Elk Backstrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
We used this recipe for Deer meat ( Venison), it was excellent. I have used mesquite flavored liquid smoke for a different twist, both are great. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This is a nice simple marinade that makes elk easy to make. I've never had luck wrapping meat in bacon without first par cooking (a few minutes in microwave), though. And I use thin-cut bacon which gets crispier in bbq. We prefer our elk more rare, so I cut the cooking time. Otherwise good, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great! I made this recipe with some elk that a friend gave my husband. So easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Very Good and easy I want more!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I am so grateful to have found this recipe: it's great for everyone from beginners to experts. My co-chef and I used venison. We let the meat marinate in cold coffee overnight (thanks for the tip!). Even though I only quickly marinated the backstrap in the Worcestershire sauce and liquid smoke mixture for a few minutes before grilling it, it still absorbed an amazing amount of flavor. No gamey taste whatsoever. I suggest wrapping the bacon around the seasoned meat before skewering the whole piece so that there's no chance of the bacon falling off during grilling. Next time I will adhere to the original recipe completely. We incorporated a spice rub into the seasoning that contained salt because we had it on hand, and it was too much; you don't need any more salt than what is called for (the bacon + sauce combo is enough). Timing them is tricky because some pieces will cook faster than others. We would not recommend doing the full 5 minutes per side because the morsels ended up being a little too crispy, maybe just 5 minutes for the first side and 2-3 after they're turned, but they were still delicious. Despite the slight errors above, and the fact that this was only the second time I made a dish with venison, you would never know it! Here are some reactions I got from my boyfriend/co-chef (the hunter), his housemate (also a hunter), and two never-had-venison-before girlfriends: "WOW- tastes just like good steak." "No gamey taste!" "Not tough or chewy at all."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julia317

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Nyack, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Changed liquid smoke to low sodium soy and used venison. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
WOW! I doubled the marinade, used Montreal Steak seasoning in place of just pepper, and put an onion on top of each piece of bacon wrapped venison--used a toothpick to keep it all together! By far, the best grilled venison I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe was really good! It had delicious flavor and was fairly easy to prepare. My only complaint with it is that you have to be pretty good about cutting every piece of meat the same size. Our pieces were all similar in size but not exactly the same and the smaller pieces ended up being too tough because we had to cook it long enough for the bacon to fully cook. I'll try it again but next time I'll try to be very careful about making everything the same size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Ridiculously good! I am a bit squeamish about eating game like elk and venison, and I have to say I was shocked at how good this was. I did add coffee and marinaded the meat for a few hours before grilling. It was fantastic! I won't afraid of cooking and eating elk any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have done these cut as medallions also and if you can't use a grill you can pan sear them for 3-4 minutes (depending on preferred how done you like them) a side and finish them right in the same pan in a 450 oven for 4 more minutes. I like to make them even a little more gourmet by topping them with bleu cheese crumbles while finishing in the oven...nice recipe enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States