Bacon Wrapped Duck Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This recipe is wonderful!! I have made it a couple of times now. Letting it soak the dressing keeps the flavor locked inside as well. Also, cooking time is key when cooking duck. If you over cook it you will end up with more of a "liver flavor". I'm not crazy about that. Its great when you go for more of a med/rare instead of a med/well. Great recipe!!! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
absolutely delish!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
A great way to prepare duck! Mine did not take an hour to cook, more like 40-45 minutes. My husband and son are both avid waterfowl hunters and I'm always looking for new ways to prepare what they bring home. This was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I cut the duck breasts in half, wrapped in bacon, threw them on the grill. OFF THE HOOK!!! Made them again this week. This time I cut jalapeño's in half, stuffed the duck in the jalapeño then wrapped bacon around all of it, Cooked on the grill, ABSOLUTLY PHENOMINAL!!!!! New favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I have made this dish many times and it is always a crowd favorite. If someone is new to duck, this would be perfect! NOTE: I sometimes use 50/50 Italian dressing & Ranch Dressing - sounds weird, but it's amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I actually make a small slice into the duck and add some cream cheese and a jalapeno slice, then wrap in bacon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
My husband doesnt like italian dressing, so I took the bacon idea and changed the rest. I only soak the duck in plain water, then I saute mushrooms, onion and garlic. Butterfly the breasts and stuff the mixture inside, then wrap in bacon. I then grill the duck until the bacon is nice and crisp. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I tweeked this a bit; first, we raise our own domestic ducks, and we enjoy the flavor of duck. So I don't soak the meat to remove any flavor from it, nor do I marinate it in anything. I use the other reviewer's suggestion of the jalepeno and it's a big hit. I simply lay out a piece of bacon (I use turkey bacon to cut out a little of the fat), lay a piece of duck on it, put a jalepeno in the center of the duck and roll it all up. I usually chop up some fresh veggies and bake the duck on top of the veggies. I've also grilled it the same way, except I wrapped it all up in foil to retain the moisture. It's been a huge hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Being an avid waterfowl hunter as well as cook, I always have lots of duck and goose to cook. I've cooked it just about everyway you can think of and this is one of my favorites. I will throw a couple suggestions out that I use as an addition to this base. First, I alwasy slice my duck breasts into the size chunks I'm going to use before I marinate them. Secondly, sometimes I soad them in cola for 24 hours or so. The italian dressing is a must and leave it in there as long as you can (24 hours isn't too much). The only other thing I do is to add a half pepperocini, water chestnut, banana pepper or jalepeno between the duck and the bacon - just to give it a little something else. Cook until the bacon is done and DO NOT OVER COOK - medium or medium rare is the way to go. Wash down with ice cold beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dukslayr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States