Bacon Wrapped Dates Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
We first had these at a wedding reception, but the dates were stuffed with feta, and that is how we usually make them. We'll try bleu cheese, no cheese, almonds and bleu, goat (cheese, ha), pepper jack, and who knows what other creations for our family Christmas party. These are super-simple to make and way tasty. I mean, how can you go wrong with bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I've NEVER had an appetizer fly off the plate like this one. I do NOT add cheese. Wrap the pitted date with the bacon, stick a toothpick in it. I've been making this one for a couple of years now...easy to make ahead of time. House smells great while the bacon is cooking and guests are arriving. One of my all time favourites. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is awesome but I used pineapple chunks instead of cheese it was WAY better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msjosey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
the goat cheese is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I used cream cheese instead of Cheddar, and marcona almonds, to stuff them. Used 1/2 slice of bacon for each date. I had smoked bacon, but think I would use regular next time. Like another user said, 7 minutes on high broil was perfect. Very tasty, and rich--I made more than our palates could handle. I would make 3 per person, tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Use Goat Cheese for this recipe!! If you use enough cheese and crisp the bacon properly, it is sublime. Also pair it with a bed of arugula and drizzle a maple syrup reduction over everything. One of the best bites I've ever had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I used big dates and stuffed with cream cheese and sliced almonds. It was so good. Cheese and almond taste is subtle, but noticeable. Needed 1/3 bacon slice to get around date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I hardly noticed the cheese in this. I do not think it is worth the effort of stuffing the dates with cheese. I tried both this recipe and some chevre (goat cheese) and both times the cheese seemed to disappear. I used maple bacon which made a nice aroma and did not make the dates too sweet. I also wrapped the dates with a whole slice of bacon instead of a portion of a slice and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Here's a easyier version....skip the cheese and have a blue cheese dip on the side....much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I didn't try it with cheddar (sounds sketchy), but with cream cheese it's excellent. My oven has two broil settings, high and low; 15 minutes on high would have been far too much heat. 15 minutes on low might do it; 7 minutes on high was plenty. I found them to taste better after they had cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States