Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I am a terrible cook, but this recipe was easy to follow and a tremendous success at the party I brought them to. I had to hide some of them to share with some friends that were coming later. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These are absolutely heavenly! I did a test-run before the party... my guess is they'll be gorgeous with a champagne cocktail or a nice white wine (even a Chardonnay might be good). I tried some with Old Amsterdam cheese (like Gouda) and some with almonds - both turned out great! I used Medjool dates, which are very plump and rich. Also, I found that there was no real need to use a toothpick - the bacon stayed wrapped by itself. Lastly, I baked them on a broil pan so the bacon grease had a place to drip into. I can't wait to serve these to my guests! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I love these! I was first served these in France by my sister's new mother-in-law with Champagne before our meal and have been making them since. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
These tasty bites were such a hit the first time I made them....I am making them again for New Years. The combination of sweet, tangy and salty is the best. They took a little longer in the oven to get the bacon toasty brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These are absolutely one of the best appetizers I have ever had, and certainly ever made! Wonderful. Easy. Addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is amazing ! No one flavour dominates so even date and blue cheese haters loved it. I will make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I stuffed the dates with smoked almonds and blue cheese, then drizzled a red wine reduction over them just before serving. Sooooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
These dates are served at a downtown tapas restaurant in Atlanta; a friend of mine who raved about them taled me into trying one although I have never particularly cared for dates. I am so happy I did. These are wonderful, easy to make and your guests will be coming back for more - that is if you want to serve them to guests - I might be inclined to keep them all for myself. A good glass of red wine and you have a real treat! Note: the restaurant mentioned grills theirs to the point where the bacon becomes blackened on the top. Either way, if you grill or bake them, I suggest doing so on a rack so that they don't sit any grease that comes from the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Easy to make, great to eat. Not so much for children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
We had these at a Christmas party, so I had to try them at home. Delicious! I did find that cooking time, in my oven at least, needed to be about 10 minutes longer. Use a broiler pan so that all the grease from the bacon is drained away. Gorgonzola cheese is great in these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States