Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Bacon wrapped dates are the best "wrapped" appetizer there its....we did Little Smoke's, and marinated waterchestnuts. Will say the cheese oozed out, but they tasted Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Everyone loved these, I will definately make again and again. I used a thin slice maple bacon, for faster cooking, had it in my head that goat cheese was req'd when shopping and the goat cheese was wonderful. What an explosion of flavour. This reciped is quick and easy - make ahead and have ready to pop into oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I really like these....a lot. Used maple bacon and stuffed with the blue cheese and a whole salted almond. Not too much trouble to make and worth the effort. No issues with the cheese leaking out and turned halfway through cooking. Will try some with blue cheese and some with goat cheese next time. Very rich...2-3 per person is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I just stuffed mine with cream cheese. I also used the pitted dates from Sun Maid, by the grapes and prunes in the grocery store. I made one bag and that made a pretty good amount, I also made another bag the next day. I prefer using the toothpicks because it was easy for my guests to pick up and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These were very good! I couldn't find pitted dates, so bought some nice Medjool (?) dates, sliced them open, removed the pit, and stuffed with goat cheese (I don't care for blue cheese). I wrapped them with applewood smoked bacon, secured with a toothpick, and then put them on a rack in a pan and baked. Mine took longer than the 40 minutes...more like 45 I think, but ovens vary, so watch them carefully. I did not have any problem with cheese leaking out like some others mentioned. I tried one soon after removing them from the oven, but I actually liked them better after they had cooled. I even tried one straight out of the fridge this morning, and it was good! I will definitely make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
You may think you don't like blue cheese or dates but you should still try this recipe. They are addictive; salty bacon, sweet dates, sharp blue cheese. Yummy. If there was a way to fit more cheese into each date it would be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I did this one stuffed with feta and an almond and wrapped in the bacon. They were excellent. Several people said they were unsure if they would like it but were glad they tried them because they were so good. I used precooked bacon so it was crispy and not greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Peachy in GA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
A great appetizer but very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I was really excited to try these, but they ended up being just okay. I had problems with the cooking time. After 40 mins the bacon was not cooked, but the cheese had started to spill out a bit. The cheese ended up with a hard, overcooked texture instead of the creamy, melted texture I was hoping for. It might have been better if the meat was was thinner so the cook time could be reduced - pancetta might be better. I do agree with others that the smokiness of bacon adds to the flavour. Probably won't make again, but if I did, would do some experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made these as an appetizer @ Thanksgiving and they were a huge hit! I am not a big fan of too much Blue Cheese so I mixed it with cream cheese and the blue cheese wasnt so strong. SOme reviews said the toothpicks werent needed but it sure makes it easier to flip them over half-way through cooking. The review that said to use a pan so that the grease has somewhere to go was a great tip. I think I may try this the next time using a different kind of cheese and maybe some brown sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Thesen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States