Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
These dates are served at a downtown tapas restaurant in Atlanta; a friend of mine who raved about them taled me into trying one although I have never particularly cared for dates. I am so happy I did. These are wonderful, easy to make and your guests will be coming back for more - that is if you want to serve them to guests - I might be inclined to keep them all for myself. A good glass of red wine and you have a real treat! Note: the restaurant mentioned grills theirs to the point where the bacon becomes blackened on the top. Either way, if you grill or bake them, I suggest doing so on a rack so that they don't sit any grease that comes from the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I read all of the reviews before making this recipe and decided to try all recommended variations because it is such an easy recipe. I have to say, either way you go, any variation is delicious: blue cheese, ricotta, gorgonzola, adding brown sugar, wine reduction and almonds. BUT...I think my favorite is the bacon rolled in brown sugar, stuffed with smoked almonds and blue cheese with a wine reduction. It is much tastier with the brown sugar, believe me! I think my second favoriate was the dates stuffed with ricotta. But regardless of the cheese you use - you can't go wrong, I would definitely add almonds to the mix, as the crunch is very nice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
my cousin made these for the holidays '2007' but what she did, was she reduced balsamic vinegar to a thick sauce..and used it for dipping..OMG!!! IT WAS HEAVEN...two dozen were gone in 15 minutes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These are absolutely heavenly! I did a test-run before the party... my guess is they'll be gorgeous with a champagne cocktail or a nice white wine (even a Chardonnay might be good). I tried some with Old Amsterdam cheese (like Gouda) and some with almonds - both turned out great! I used Medjool dates, which are very plump and rich. Also, I found that there was no real need to use a toothpick - the bacon stayed wrapped by itself. Lastly, I baked them on a broil pan so the bacon grease had a place to drip into. I can't wait to serve these to my guests! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Oh. My. God.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
These were good, but the bacon wrapped dates stuffed with almonds were by far the bigger hit at the party ... even the blue cheese fanatics prefered the "crunch" of the almond stuffed version. Good, but will stick to the other (which were easier to work with as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yana
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I've always ordered these at one of my favorite tapas restaurants here in Chicago. So this past weekend I decided to make some for a cocktail party I was hosting. Instead of blue cheese, I filled the dates with slivered almonds and baked them for 20 minutes in a 450 degree oven. They turned out crispy and delicious. A HUGE hit with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I stuffed the dates with smoked almonds and blue cheese, then drizzled a red wine reduction over them just before serving. Sooooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I did make modifications to mine since I don't like blue cheese, so my rating doesn't apply to that part. It's a great base recipe to try different stuffing in the dates. I used feta and slivered almonds and they fit perfectly in the dates. The cooking and the directions worked great. The cheese stayed put and the dates were delicious. I used skewers and put 5-6 dates on one skewer to save toothpicks and the amount of time I had to flip each date. I just had to flip the skewers and it was easy to pop the dates off and put them in a dish. Putting them on a skewer also helped keep the bacon stay put. So tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is a great basic stuffed date recipe. The blue cheese married with the sweetness of the dates and the salty bacon is delicious. For a wonderful variation, try mixing half cream cheese and half goat cheese instead of the blue cheese. Even picky kids will eat these sweet treasures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mineral Point, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States