Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I did make modifications to mine since I don't like blue cheese, so my rating doesn't apply to that part. It's a great base recipe to try different stuffing in the dates. I used feta and slivered almonds and they fit perfectly in the dates. The cooking and the directions worked great. The cheese stayed put and the dates were delicious. I used skewers and put 5-6 dates on one skewer to save toothpicks and the amount of time I had to flip each date. I just had to flip the skewers and it was easy to pop the dates off and put them in a dish. Putting them on a skewer also helped keep the bacon stay put. So tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I make these for a pot luck dinner, they went over well, but they were heavy/greasy, ot sure if I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smyliee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Huge hit! Make sure to use thinner bacon, I used a thick bacon the first time and it didn't work out as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brookeco31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honeoye, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made these exactly as written and thought they were quite good. They went over well with everyone. The blue cheese is subtle, and the combination of the sweet date and salty bacon is delicious. I think I would try some of the suggested modifications next time, especially the brown sugar on the bacon. I think that would put it over the top. But as is, it is an excellent, classy appetizer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and was a huge hit. Will definitley make again. Everyone was raving how original it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets in the nude
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Had these at a local resturant but with a few excellant changes to bake them Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I used goat's cheese instead of blue and they were phenomenal! I have a few dates left out - I will try the blue this time - can't wait. I already know they're a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This gets 4 stars because we ended up burning our dates. We even lowered the oven 50 degrees at 40 minutes, next time we will lower it again 50 degrees, but flip after 15 minutes and keep a close eye between 20-30 minutes, then i think they will be perfect. Adding the roughly chopped almonds makes all the textural difference in the world, do not skip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
These are amazing. They take a bit of time to prepare, but the nice thing is that you can always stuff the dates, wrap them in bacon and then stick them in the fridge for a bit before baking and serving. Serve these and you will get rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
wonderful! I stuffed mine with cream cheese and roasted garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States