Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I made these this past Christmas and am pulling it up again for the recipe, so thought I would review. I used Mejdool (spelling?) dates and stuffed with a mix of chopped smoked almonds and blue cheese. I let the bacon soak up some brown sugar before I wrapped the dates. I used thin bacon and had no problem with it cooking in 30 minutes, 15 minutes per side. I used skewers and put several on a skewer on a broiling pan to let them drip. TO DIE FOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Utterly awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Delicious, beautiful & impressive! A must try! Just for fun I brushed them with some apricot jam that I added a dash of cayenne pepper to first (brushed it on during the last 10 min. of baking) and it raised these beauties to a whole new level of fabulousity! With or without the glaze, they are awesome! Enjoy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was a great appetizer and none were left by the time we had dinner. I basically used the same recipe but substituted cream cheese for the blue cheese and also baked another batch without the cheese. I prefer the pitted Deglet Noor dates because of the great combination of flavors. I tried the Medjool dates but they needed to be pitted and they were a little too meaty. To me, the combination of flavors with the Medjools didn't come through. It's a very quick recipe so try it at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Made 2 full bags of dates and they were gone within 20 minutes at a relatively small party with LOTS of other foods. The sweet date coupled with the savory blue cheese and then wrapped in bacon..... AMAZING!! I bake them for 20 minutes on one side and 10 on the other...if you allow them to brown a bit more they sort of carmalize and taste really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I turned the dates at 20 minutes and took them out after 10 more minutes and the bacon was almost burnt and most of the cheese melted out. Next time I will not cook them as long and/or lower the oven temp to 350. Glad I wasn't making them for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These recipe is awesome! My kids and husband dislike dates, but couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
These were a big hit at my holiday appetizer party. Even people who didn't like dates loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
These didn't work in any way for me. If you make this recipe make sure to get small dates (our grocery store only had large ones and they overwhelmed the whole thing). Also get regular bacon (my fiance picked up some sort of smoked bacon and it didn't work with the rest of the ingredients). I don't think we would have loved these even with perfect ingredients, but I think they would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States