Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Oh my goodness... Just made these for an audition for "Dinner Party Wars" and they are gooooooooooooood. Used extra thick bacon from the Polish butcher, ridiculously expensive Medjool dates from Whole Foods and a lovely raw French blue called Bleu D'Auvergine. Put them under the broiler for the last couple of minutes and used the suggestion of a rack on a pan to let the fat fall through. Yum! Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
these are great hot or cold! Based on other reviews I tried with almonds (and used maple bacon) OH MY! You won't be disappointed! Next party I plan on making 3 different kinds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
AMAZING!!! I used Gorgonzola cheese and I had super thick bacon so I could get away with using only 1/3 piece of bacon for each stuffed date. My husband who isn't a huge fan of either dates or Gorgonzola loves these tasty bites! I think adding a slivered almond would be a lovely addition and I will have to try that next time. If you can, bake on a broiler as another reviewer mentioned - my tin foil lined cookie sheets was okay but I burned my fingers twice on the bacon grease when flipping half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
DELICIOUS! Although I may have not used enough blue cheese because I couldn't really taste it. However, they were still so good and totally killed at the holiday party. Make double or triple what you expect people to eat.... mine were all gone in 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These are awesome! I used feta chesse instead since I'm personally not a big bleu cheese fan. I only wish I had made a double batch, maybe even more than that! They went fast and no one at my party could get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
These were really good. Instead of blue cheese, I stuffed them with an almond. I served them at room temperature. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Just served these at a very fancy musical event. Big hit. Easy to make in advance but I baked just prior. No matter how people are dressed, the smell of bacon brings them running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Montana, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Delightful! My guests all loved it! Be sure to get larger dates that will hold up when cooked. I used proscuttio instead of bacon. And I also made a reduced balsamic vinegar sauce over the top. Great combo of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barngurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I was so excited to try this recipe, but unfortunately was disappointed with it. I used blue cheese, almonds (per other reviewers), and then wrapped with bacon before cooking. They actually looked terrific when they were done, but I didn't like the flavors at all. Maybe I am just not enough of a date fan to enjoy this, but the date was overwhelming in my opinion. I noticed that it did taste better once cooled to room temperature, though. Thank you for letting me try this recipe though. I'm glad I finally gave it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My mom made these for New Year's Eve, and they were delicious! Very simple to make and very well received. I LOVED the sweetness of the date with the sharpness of the blue cheese and the smokiness of the bacon-flavors that complinented each other VERY well. These will definately be made again and again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States