Bacon Wrapped Brown Sugar Smokies Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
It was a tough one deciding between 4.5 and 5 stars...I usually only give 5 stars if I don't have to tinker with a recipe...but, I couldn't get just half a star to fill in and really, it's just pretty darn good. It was a bit sweet for my taste, so I added a little bit of onion powder (because I LOVE onions, especially with a bbq sauce) and celery salt to cut back the sweetness. That made it just perfect for me. Served with the Sausage Stuffing Balls for supper as we waited for the blizzard to roll in. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by medelamom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved this! so simple, yet so good. MUST also try the brown sugar smokies sauce that compliments these little tasty creatures. Tip - trim some excess fat off bacon, or use center cut. Definitely don't use thick cut. Very very easy for a quick little snack!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steadybdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were quick, easy, and full of flavor! Made them for Superbowl Sunday and everyone was all over them. I served them on top of heated baked beans in my crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This sauce was really good. Everyone loved the smokies so much that they didn't have a chance to taste it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Has a strong mayo aftertaste. I added some lemon juice to jazz it up. That helped some. I haven't served it to my guests yet so maybe they will love it & then I can amend my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Lindsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cadwell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I'm a fan of anything wrapped in bacon and this was no exception! Always a hit whenever I bring them somewhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwhhScoob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Vermont, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I used this as a topping on burgers with pepperjack cheese, mushrooms, and bacon. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I used maple flavored bacon and dark brown sugar. They were an instant hit! I will be making these appetizers for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I do equal amounts of each of the 3 and pour it over bacon wrapped waterchestnuts in a slow cooker...SOOOO Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made this for the superbowl along with some twice baked potatos. Everyone loved them. There were none left when the game was over. I followed the suggestions to coat the bacon and lil smokies in brown sugar and marinate in the fridge overnight. They were so good and addicting! I mad ethe suggested sauce ut not spicey. Added a lil worchstashire sauce to it. Now everytime I see my nephew he asks me to make some more and bring them all to his house. haha OH and I did not heed the suggestion of using a roast pan to catch the drippings of fat and was very sad I didnt. Dont ignore that suggestion, youl be glad you did when you go to get the pan out and the jucies DONT go all over the oven making a huge mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States