Bacon Wrapped Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ssharp
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Submitter here! I'm glad you like the recipe. I entered that the cayenne should be "to taste", so please forgive the spiciness, as that part did not go through. Add as much or as little as you like. Cayenne does not add much flavor, but only heat. Substituting smoked paprika for the cayenne would be great for those of you sensitive to heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ssharp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I am usually not a fan of brats but these were so good! Someone made them for a potluck at work and I will be making these myself soon! The sweetness of the brown sugar was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agency, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was great! I used two cans of beer instead of three and that was plenty. It was a little spicy for my 6 and 4 year old so next time I'll cut the cayenne pepper in half. Great alternative for brats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were GONE in the first pass at the church pot luck! I made 3 changes: After cooking in root beer, I cut the bratwurst into about 5 bite sized pieces then tossed them in the brown sugar mixture before wrapping them in bacon. Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
My husband loved this recipe and has asked for it again after only one week. I will decrease the cayenne simply because I felt it was too spicy for me and our 2 year old. They turned out perfectly cooked and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Too Spicy but very good...2nd time I made it I used cracked black pepper instead..much better, especially for small children! Easy and Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Wow! I took this to a Superbowl Party. It was the first thing gone! Everyone wanted the recipe. I was thinking it would be a good guy appetizer, but the ladies loved it too. Will make for the next gathering for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
good, you loose a little flavor if reheated or made a day ahead of time. Make same day and keep warm in crock pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by briansthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was OK. It is easy to prepare and is a good way to enjoy brats without having to grill them up (I do not enjoy grilling). Also perfect for those days when you are craving grilled fare, but the weatehr is not condusive to outdoor cooking. Next time (if I decide to make these again - my bf thought they were just "OK" as well), I'd double the cayenne as I couldn't taste it at all. I will also make a mustard dipping sauce for the brats (just seemed as if something were missing...) Serve with German potato salad on the side. Overall a neat idea for cooking bratwurst. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I substituted turkey brats and turkey bacon and they still came out delicious. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States