Bacon Wrapped Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
We love how sweet, salty, savory, and spicy these are. The cayenne amount works well for us - it's not an overwhelming heat. We don't usually have beer and just cook the brats in beef broth - tastes great. We also like to partially pre-cook the bacon in a pan to ensure that it is able to cook at the way in the oven (particularly the parts of the bacon that are underneath the brat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Really really good. I'm not a brat lover by any means but the DH loves them and I finally found a way to enjoy them as much as he does. These were so tasty I didn't change anything about it other than baking on a rack so they would get nice and crispy. Use cayenne with caution we didn't mind the full amount but they are rather spicy but thats what we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great recipe! Have made this recipe dozens of times and it is a family favorite as well as a company favorite. I omit the toothpicks by placing the bacon seam side down. Also, works just fine on a cookie sheet (covered with foil for easy clean up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This recipe is great as is! I have made this several times and every time there are none left! Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Really good but next time I need to use about 1/4 the amount of cayenne, maybe less! And I like hot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I made this recipe for a beer tasting party. I couldn't believe how fast they disappeared! This recipe took longer to make than I usually invest in an appetizer for an informal get-together, but it was time well spent. A definite hit! I did add some red pepper flakes to the brown sugar. Also, I bought some dipping mustard to serve with this. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This recipe was fabulous! I used apple juice instead of beer and cut down on the pepper so my granddaughter would eat them. I made 5 brats as that's what was in the package. My hubby said he could eat all of them they were so good! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Any stadium brat works here, even precooked. The key is wrapping in bacon and rolling in the brown sugar, dry mustard and Creole powder instead of cayenne.BIG HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Winterol
Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Delicious! I wanted to use these on buns w/ fried onions and spicy mustard, so I kept them whole. Also, I omitted the cayenne/brown sugar mixture, but plan on trying that sometime soon. This is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Loved it! Didn't cut the meat, added a little garlic, and used crushed red peppers instead. Was good to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisDIVAcooks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Summerton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States