Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This bacon wrapped barbecue shrimp is tasty so good.Great combination and I did'nt even have any regular bacon.All I had was some turkey bacon so I decided to use that.And it was so awesome.Great flavors too.So if you love shrimp and bacon like I do great combination.And what a great and quick tasty appetizer as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Excellent flavor combination.... needs some tweaking though. Made exactly as written... used "Jumbo" shrimp which from Sam's is 31-40 shrimp per pound (which required 1/4-1/3 slice bacon). I also used what was pretty thinly sliced bacon. Even with the jumbo shrimp and the thin bacon, I was in danger of having little pink rubbery things to eat for dinner...so I didn't let the bacon get as crisp as I would have preferred. I think it might help to know what "large shrimp" are... are they colossal? Prawns? What are the definitions of colossal vs prawn? In any event... these were in fact very, very good... but some further guidance on the actual *size* of the shrimp would help. I picked up some Webers BBQ rub to use... and was the perfect mix of sweet and spicy...I didn't need to press it in.... it melted right in as the recipe said it would. All things considered, these were a hit... and very filling. Will be trying these again with bigger shrimp + the same thickness of bacon... it will be absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Not the best recipe I've gotten off the site, but granted I didn't have the exact BBQ ingredient. It was good though. Colossal Shrimp from Trader Joes worked perfect, but don't use thick bacon - it won't stay wrapped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jokenaround2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I used the Montreal Low Sodium Steak Seasoning. Followed the instructions for a 450 degree oven, but after 10 minutes I switched to broil for an additional 15 minutes using jumbo (16-20 per pound) shrimp. Both my husband and I loved them and I will definately make again. I would even serve this to company as either a dinner or an hors d'oeuvre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Somewhere I got the recipe to do this same thing only adding a large fresh Basil leaf on the shrimp before wrapping the bacon. It is sooooo tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
We make a similar version by wrapping the shrimp with 1/3 slice Peppered Bacon, lining several up on skewers, and drizzling Kraft Zesty Italian salad dressing over them. We then cook them on the grill until the bacon is done. Yum! We eat these as appetizers when we grill or smoke other meats outdoors. This version is very good, too! Never thought about using BBQ seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great recipe. Being a Texan, spicy are us. Halve several large jalapenos, clean seeds out (unless you like super spicy), place a shrimp in a jalapeno halve and wrap bacon around that. Really good appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I have made this for years but I throw them on the grill instead. I use jumbo shrimp and slit them down the back and fill with jalapeno cheese. Just make sure you pre cook the bacon first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
perhaps using prosciutto instead of bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franny999

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I once had something similar and I've made it a few times. You butterfly your shrimp stuff it with cream cheese wrap it in bacon and deep fry it. You use your favorite bbq sauce for dipping and it is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking from the Hip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Volcano, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States