Bacon Water Chestnut Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made all the appetizers for our Thanksgiving feast this year (6 different appetizers) and these were hovered over until gone (took about 15 mins for them to polish off approx 30 wraps). All who hovered asked for the recipe and was telling those who weren't hovering how good they were. I did fry my bacon for about 3 mins on each side then set on paper towel lined plate and began to wrap immediatly. Just a note, I did notice some don't fry the bacon prior to wrapping so here is some tips to help decide if you want to cook your bacon prior or not. Bacon is just a great meat and it depends on how you like your textures. For a chewier bacon don't fry just wrap. For a light crisp with some chewy bacon, cook for approx 2-3 mins each side, just enough for the edges to crisp up then wrap. 4-5 mins each side for a crispy. Bacon continues to cook after it is pulled off the heat. The longer it cooks and the longer it sits after cooking the crispier the bacon will become. If it gets to crispy it will crumble when bent around chestnut or blacken as it cooks in oven. If you have a problem with the toothpicks browning, soak the toothpicks in water for about 5 mins prior to using but keep in mind this will make the toothpick more limp. Hope some of these tips help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have been making these for several years, and they are always a hit. I wrap the chestnuts in uncooked bacon, and bake them for 45 minutes, drain the bacon fat that has been released, pour the sauce over the chestnuts, and bake for another 20 minutes. Lots easier than having to cook the bacon first, and no worries about its being too crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
These are delicious. I didn't pre cook the bacon first though. Just wrapped the chestnuts in the raw bacon, cooked them on a high oven rack until the bacon was crisp then added the sauce and cooked an addition ten or so minutes. These went fast!! They are sweet, but have a spicy bite to them and are totally addictive. The host of the party wrapped up the 3 that were remaining and said she couldn't wait to have them to herself when everyone left. Really, really good!!! These would probably be really tasty using scallops as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Everyone loved them at my party! I slightly changed the bacon process by wrapping the chestnuts first and then putting them in the oven to crisp. Then I put them in the sauce and back in the oven. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was great! The best part is that you can prepare it ahead of time. I kept the sauce mixture in a container and the waterchestnuts and bacon all set in a ziplock bag! It's all about planning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Loved it! Loved it! I got rave reviews! Several people asked me for the recipe! To save some time in front of the stove...I baked the bacon a head of time. I put them in the oven at 400 degrees and waited until they started to crisp. It is nice to put all your bacon in the oven at once and you don't have to do anything else with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These are great, easy to make. I would definitely recommend "fancy" water chestnuts tho'. One can I had wasn't, and had bacon left over. Also agree with the reviewer who said she used a lesser amt. of chili sauce. The first batch of sauce I made was with hot chili sauce (Asian) and was dynamite. It's a keeper tho! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These are very good. I did make 2 changes to the recipe. First I used precooked bacon because I had read another recipe in a magazine that said to use it. The other change I made because I have some picky eaters at the party I made these for so I just put the sauce on the side. I really wish I would have put the sauce on top and baked them like that but they were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made these ahead of time and then just put them in a crock pot - big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My husband doesnt like water chestnuts so I subsituted cocktail weenies, they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States