Bacon Water Chestnut Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
great recipes. usually i make these with just a splash of teriyaki sauce on them the last 3 minutes of cooking but these were different. I liked that that the sauce mixture made a glaze on them. I didn't cook the bacon first, though and I used sliced chestnuts because thats what I had on hand. Also, i think the 2 cans was a bit much but maybe there are fewer whole chesnuts in a can. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us! It was a hit at my new years eve party last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This recipe sounds familiar to one we used to make to screaming reviews!! Try adding chicken to the chestnuts and marinate chick and chestnuts in a soy sauce,garlic, and honey sauce for as long as you can, up to a day. After marinating, wrap with bacon and cook in oven or broil but watch!! I suggest cooking in a 350 oven for 30 mins. (need to let chicken cook) and then broil for a few mins., watching during broil so they don't burn!! We always served using toothpicks, but no sauce, although I'm sure that would be great, but might not even be necessary!! Try them, I'm sure you'll love them and so will everyone else!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These are great, easy to make. I would definitely recommend "fancy" water chestnuts tho'. One can I had wasn't, and had bacon left over. Also agree with the reviewer who said she used a lesser amt. of chili sauce. The first batch of sauce I made was with hot chili sauce (Asian) and was dynamite. It's a keeper tho! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These are very good. I did make 2 changes to the recipe. First I used precooked bacon because I had read another recipe in a magazine that said to use it. The other change I made because I have some picky eaters at the party I made these for so I just put the sauce on the side. I really wish I would have put the sauce on top and baked them like that but they were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I make this all the time and now my extended family has stolen the recipe and makes it all the time. We love it. The only change is to use 1/2 or 1/3 of the chili sauce; it still has punch, just makes it edible for even people who don't like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was great! The best part is that you can prepare it ahead of time. I kept the sauce mixture in a container and the waterchestnuts and bacon all set in a ziplock bag! It's all about planning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These were excellent, and the first thing to disappear at my appetizer Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
these are great! If you bring them to a party they will be one of the first things to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I've made these over the past decade and no one ever seems to get tired of these tasty morsels! I usually have to make a double batch in order for me to get any. They go well especially for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
These were GREAT! My boyfriend and I absolutely loved them! We weren't too sure how they would turn out considering the ingredients, but we decided to do it since there were soo many good reviews! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah & Bull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States