Bacon Water Chestnut Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I have been making these for several years, and they are always a hit. I wrap the chestnuts in uncooked bacon, and bake them for 45 minutes, drain the bacon fat that has been released, pour the sauce over the chestnuts, and bake for another 20 minutes. Lots easier than having to cook the bacon first, and no worries about its being too crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My husband doesnt like water chestnuts so I subsituted cocktail weenies, they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made all the appetizers for our Thanksgiving feast this year (6 different appetizers) and these were hovered over until gone (took about 15 mins for them to polish off approx 30 wraps). All who hovered asked for the recipe and was telling those who weren't hovering how good they were. I did fry my bacon for about 3 mins on each side then set on paper towel lined plate and began to wrap immediatly. Just a note, I did notice some don't fry the bacon prior to wrapping so here is some tips to help decide if you want to cook your bacon prior or not. Bacon is just a great meat and it depends on how you like your textures. For a chewier bacon don't fry just wrap. For a light crisp with some chewy bacon, cook for approx 2-3 mins each side, just enough for the edges to crisp up then wrap. 4-5 mins each side for a crispy. Bacon continues to cook after it is pulled off the heat. The longer it cooks and the longer it sits after cooking the crispier the bacon will become. If it gets to crispy it will crumble when bent around chestnut or blacken as it cooks in oven. If you have a problem with the toothpicks browning, soak the toothpicks in water for about 5 mins prior to using but keep in mind this will make the toothpick more limp. Hope some of these tips help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Wow! These are great. Like other reviewers, I wrapped the water chestnuts in bacon first. Then cooked then for about an hour. I then warmed the sauce up. Plated the wraps and drizzled the sauce over them. So simple but such a hit. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Sweet, crunchy, and salty all rolled into one delicious bite! These were GONE before I knew it at a recent party I threw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLYJELLO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
very good, and has a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I really like the crunch factor. I was surprised that the water chestnuts were still so cruchy even after cooking them for so long. I didn't precook the bacon. I just poured the sauce over and cooked them for twice as long. They were really good. I halved the recipe because I was only serving 8 people and had a lot of other food and appetizers. Wish I wouldn't have done that, they gotten eaten up way to fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made these ahead of time and then just put them in a crock pot - big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
These are really tasty and super easy to make. Made 2 batches of them for New Year's Eve party and both of them disappeared. Simple enough to make while tipsy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Loved it! Loved it! I got rave reviews! Several people asked me for the recipe! To save some time in front of the stove...I baked the bacon a head of time. I put them in the oven at 400 degrees and waited until they started to crisp. It is nice to put all your bacon in the oven at once and you don't have to do anything else with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States