Bacon Water Chestnut Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Great for a party...New Years Eve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These exceeded my expectations! My husband is begging me to make them again. I did not cook the bacon before hand. I wrapped the water chesnuts and baked them for about 15 minutes. I then turned on the broiler and broiled them for another 3-5 before pouring the sauce on and backing them for another 10. They were perfect. Crispy bacon, sweet and smoky flavor from the sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I gave this a bit of a different twist. Instead of using the sauce as described in the recipe because of allergies to eggs I used my favourite bbq sauce, which is a jack daniels honey bbq. I cooked the bacon first for 2-3 mins then poped the pan in the over with the bbq sauce over top. They were a huge hit and didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Easy and very good. DH doesn't like water chestnuts - didn't tell him what they were and he kept eating them and asked me to make them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Excellent appetizer!! I'll definately use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this for New Year’s Eve on a whim, tired of making the same stuff all the time. It sounded a little strange but the reviews were great so I thought I’d try it…the reviews were right. They were all eaten and were the first thing to go!! Everyone was asking me to make them for future get-togethers. Because I didn’t have time to cook the bacon, and then wrap the water chestnut, AND THEN BAKE THEM…I just wrapped the chestnuts with raw bacon, and cooked them for about 12-15 minutes on a broiler pan, to let the fat drip down and make the bacon crispy, and then flipped them over, cooked for another 12-15 minutes. It gave me time to run around and finish my last minute things. When they were done, I stuck them in a small crock pot to keep them warm and drizzled the sauce over them. They did not get soggy at all. I did double the recipe, and if you do that; you do not need to double the sauce. I had lots of left over sauce! Thanks for such a great idea that was easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Made these for the holidays, what a hit they were! I did use precooked bacon just because it was on sale. Didn't change anything else, except use the microwave instead of the oven to heat. Full power for 20 seconds as the bacon was already cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MemaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Made these with "Guilin Chili Sauce"...I live in China and there were a number of choices at the store. It was not a sweet sauce, but rather had more of a kick to it. I personally think I would try a different kind of chili sauce next time but since there is already brown sugar in the recipe I didn't want something too sweet. Others really liked it though. I also used fresh water chestnuts which were a pain to peel, but I cut them up into halves or thirds and cut the bacon in thirds. Very good appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatertot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Tianjin, Tianjin (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this for a Christmas party and the other reviews were right. Everyone raved! Even the host of the party who is an awesome chef. It was the first thing to go and it was fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
SO Good! Fast and simple to make! I even like to make these for ball games when we have people over because they go over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States