Bacon Turnip Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My husband really loved this a lot better than my standard mashed turnips with maple syrup. The only modification I would make would be to actually use a little less bacon. It was more bacon than turnip practically. I used pre-cooked bacon which worked out perfectly. I did pour the grease into the dish. Next time I will omit this, too. It made it too salty. I think with slightly less bacon and no bacon grease this would be 5* (or at least omit the bacon grease if nothing else). Will make it again for Thanksgiving next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was a great hit at our house. Can't really go wrong with bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was a delicious side dish, alternative to mashed potatoes. My husband also enjoyed this tasty dish. I used precooked bacon to avoid a mess in my kitchen and omitted the bacon fat. I drained the water out of the cooked turnips before adding the seasoning, I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
A nice change from the normal vegetable choices... not a diet food but i like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Had to use of some turnips from my CSA box (local food box that I get weekly). I wasn't expecting much, but this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Very good and wonderful alternative to potatoes. I used low sodium bacon and removed salt, and it still had wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGural

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This recipe was really good! The only thing it needed in my opinion was more salt. Although, I didn't use the bacon fat, so this could have altered the taste. Otherwise, it was really good, will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was the first time any of my family had tried turnips so I have nothing to compare them with, but I am over my turnip-phobia thanks to this recipe. I couldn't find orange turnips and my grocer was clueless also (Florida maybe??), so I used the white purple-topped turnips. They were so different than working with potatoes, but I soon came up with a system of continuous spiral peeling which went faster. I doubled the recipe and there were barely any left-overs! We ALL enjoyed these. The biggest surprise of all was that my I-hate-anything-new 10 year old daughter actually asked for seconds! I would like to add that these were the perfect consistency. Another had said that they were watery, but not at all. The recipe is great as it stands. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This only my second recipe with turnips. Boiling them takes some of the flavor out. These tended to be watery. I had to drain alot of liquid out before serving. Roasting them preserves the flavor much better. Even adding bacon I had to add more salt and pepper to taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States