Bacon Spinach Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jaderator
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I tweaked it a bit based on some stuff that I needed to use (green bell pepper, chicken breasts) and I loved it! Great flavor, reasonably healthy. I used a thick cut bacon that had very little fat on it, so the onion and peppers generated most of the cooking moisture as opposed to bacon fat. I think I will make this again and perhaps tweak some more ingredients (possibly garlic, or cumin...possibilities are endless!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Tried fixing quinoa for the first time. This recipe is really easy. I reduced the bacon to only 1/4 cup then added 1/4 c. mirin or white wine. Salt and pepper to taste. I skipped the cilantro. Will be fixing this again. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madeleine Noel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Skipped the cilantro and this was still an amazing side. Red quinoa worked wonderfully. I doubled the recipe, hoping for leftovers. Nope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Delicious! I added a some parmesan and some mozzarella and it turned out wonderful. My husband and I are going grain-free, so this recipe is a perfect weeknight dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I did not use the cilantro, but it was delicious without it! Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 10tsmith
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
We used maple bacon, and half the amount. We also drizzled a little maple syrup over it and it was wonderful! Bacon took a little longer to cook than expected, but that's okay :) Would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
wonderful and easy. I would suggest cooking the onion separately from the bacon so the bacon can crisp up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
So delicious! I added a few other things: cumin, garlic, a dash of lemon pepper and topped the dish with avocado. Very simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States