Bacon Spinach Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Tried fixing quinoa for the first time. This recipe is really easy. I reduced the bacon to only 1/4 cup then added 1/4 c. mirin or white wine. Salt and pepper to taste. I skipped the cilantro. Will be fixing this again. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madeleine Noel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Photo by jaderator
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I tweaked it a bit based on some stuff that I needed to use (green bell pepper, chicken breasts) and I loved it! Great flavor, reasonably healthy. I used a thick cut bacon that had very little fat on it, so the onion and peppers generated most of the cooking moisture as opposed to bacon fat. I think I will make this again and perhaps tweak some more ingredients (possibly garlic, or cumin...possibilities are endless!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Skipped the cilantro and this was still an amazing side. Red quinoa worked wonderfully. I doubled the recipe, hoping for leftovers. Nope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
wonderful and easy. I would suggest cooking the onion separately from the bacon so the bacon can crisp up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I liked it but I think it was a bit too salty and meaty. I used 12 oz of turkey bacon and parsley instead of cilantro. So I think I'll cut the meat and add more quinoa. I ate it for lunch as a main dish rather than as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I did not use the cilantro, but it was delicious without it! Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Delicious! I added a some parmesan and some mozzarella and it turned out wonderful. My husband and I are going grain-free, so this recipe is a perfect weeknight dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was a hit, although I modified it quite a bit. Based on other reviews, I used 1/2 lb. bacon, sauteed it by itself, and removed it to drain. I added a half cup of white wine to the drippings, and cooked the onions while the wine reduced, adding the spinach when it was almost dry. After adding the bacon, onion, and spinach mix into the quinoa, I added about a tsp of lemon juice and a tsp of cumin for flavor. Did not use cilantro, though I would if I had it. In the future, I'll use even less bacon and chop it into smaller pieces, and use low sodium chicken broth. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very very good! Didn't use cilantro, and I would definitely cook the bacon first, then the onion. Many small pieces were a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States