Bacon Spinach Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jaderator
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I tweaked it a bit based on some stuff that I needed to use (green bell pepper, chicken breasts) and I loved it! Great flavor, reasonably healthy. I used a thick cut bacon that had very little fat on it, so the onion and peppers generated most of the cooking moisture as opposed to bacon fat. I think I will make this again and perhaps tweak some more ingredients (possibly garlic, or cumin...possibilities are endless!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Tried fixing quinoa for the first time. This recipe is really easy. I reduced the bacon to only 1/4 cup then added 1/4 c. mirin or white wine. Salt and pepper to taste. I skipped the cilantro. Will be fixing this again. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Mad Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Skipped the cilantro and this was still an amazing side. Red quinoa worked wonderfully. I doubled the recipe, hoping for leftovers. Nope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Delicious! I added a some parmesan and some mozzarella and it turned out wonderful. My husband and I are going grain-free, so this recipe is a perfect weeknight dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I did not use the cilantro, but it was delicious without it! Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 10tsmith
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
We used maple bacon, and half the amount. We also drizzled a little maple syrup over it and it was wonderful! Bacon took a little longer to cook than expected, but that's okay :) Would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I liked it but I think it was a bit too salty and meaty. I used 12 oz of turkey bacon and parsley instead of cilantro. So I think I'll cut the meat and add more quinoa. I ate it for lunch as a main dish rather than as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
wonderful and easy. I would suggest cooking the onion separately from the bacon so the bacon can crisp up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States