Bacon Spinach Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Next time I will use only 1/2# of the bacon and significantly more spinach. As others suggested, it could be helpful to fully cook the bacon separately (until it is starting to get crispy), then saute the onion. I thought it tasted good, but others thought it could use more flavor; some garlic, or even red-pepper flakes, would be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwain Urvig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was a hit, although I modified it quite a bit. Based on other reviews, I used 1/2 lb. bacon, sauteed it by itself, and removed it to drain. I added a half cup of white wine to the drippings, and cooked the onions while the wine reduced, adding the spinach when it was almost dry. After adding the bacon, onion, and spinach mix into the quinoa, I added about a tsp of lemon juice and a tsp of cumin for flavor. Did not use cilantro, though I would if I had it. In the future, I'll use even less bacon and chop it into smaller pieces, and use low sodium chicken broth. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very very good! Didn't use cilantro, and I would definitely cook the bacon first, then the onion. Many small pieces were a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amyjo717
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
used mushrooms instead of spinach! turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I found that I did not like the Quinoa but I did live the bacon and spinach together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Jackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
So delicious! I added a few other things: cumin, garlic, a dash of lemon pepper and topped the dish with avocado. Very simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
wonderful and easy. I would suggest cooking the onion separately from the bacon so the bacon can crisp up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I liked it but I think it was a bit too salty and meaty. I used 12 oz of turkey bacon and parsley instead of cilantro. So I think I'll cut the meat and add more quinoa. I ate it for lunch as a main dish rather than as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 10tsmith
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
We used maple bacon, and half the amount. We also drizzled a little maple syrup over it and it was wonderful! Bacon took a little longer to cook than expected, but that's okay :) Would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States