Bacon Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Great recipe but made a few changes.cut uncooked bacon into one inch lengths begin with bacon a layer of thinly sliced potatoes, shredded cheese, repeat layer ending with shredded cheese. baked regularly but at the last ten minutes I poured milk over it, covered it and finished it off...Gave it a stir and yummy! took it to a potluck and received raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
MMM mm mm. What a yummy recipe. I always have trouble mixing the flour because I get lumps, any suggestions? but lumps aside, the roux had a lovely taste and the whole process was actually not complicated. Delicious!! The whole family enjoyed it, so much so that they completely ate it before the fried chicken! In this house that's a huge compliment. Definately a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keyandvi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Added cheddar & mozzarella cheeses to each layer, & also put bacon on each layer. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very good as written, better with double the bacon and a sliced jalapeno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rucus7
Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Outstanding! I downsized the amount of onions a bit and diced them for my fussy daughter, added the bacon in each layer and used grated tex-mex cheese as well. Hate to dabble with such a great recipe but bravo! In the end, I wish I had made more! Seconds for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Divine is the only word that comes to mind when I think of these scalloped potatoes! Thick and creamy lusciousness in dish! Thank you for this delightful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My first time making scalloped potatoes and they were a HUGE success. They were even better as leftovers. I did add a clove of garlic to the mixture after it came to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I really like this recipe. I did tweak it though. I caramelized the onions & added garlic, & jalapeño (because I love a lil heat). I also added some mozzarella (it's all I happened to have). I also added just a lil bit of kosher salt & fresh ground black pepper. Omg it was ssssooooooo good. A defanate keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
The first time I made it to recipe, my husband, our toddler daughter, and I loved it. My picky twins sons (10 years) tolerated it. The second time, I added 1 cup of mixed mexican cheeses (it's what I had) into the sauce and EVERYONE loved it. Love this recipe, will be having again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
So easy to prepare. It does take over an hour in the oven, so might not work for everybody for a weekday meal. The only thing I did differently was to sauce the first layer and then put the rest on top. I'm a fan of scalloped potatoes, and this measured up to other more time-consuming recipes I've made. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States