Bacon Roll-Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
SO SO SO GOOD,I added a bit of fresh chives to the cream cheese and it was wonderful just a little extra flavor. And I agree with others to cook the bacon part way first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Everything tastes better with bacon. I make something similiar, with jalepenos, sliced in half length wise and seeded, stuffed with the cream cheese, and then wrapped with bacon. So good and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nillazilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
These were alright. Nothing fancy and the bacon was the best part. I did pre cook the bacon a little and used 2 wholemeal pitas from the freezer and 1 pkt bacon. I think these would be better to bake in the oven and also the cream cheese needs SOMETHING in the middle of it - like a swirl of sweet chilli sauce to cut throught that thick, plain flavour, plus pepper (no salt because of the bacon). I used sweet chilli to dip them in. Dh said they were kind of strange, but most of the family ate them, except for bubs and 3 yr old. If you soak your bacon in water to defrost, you'll need to add salt as soaking it leaches out the salt. Wouldn't make again, simply because they tasted a bit strange --- they were actually a lot better when they weren't broiled, but with just the half cooked bacon wrapped around them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
these are always big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANNEGRALER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Yum, yim, yum! How much easier could it be? I will be experimenting with flavored pitas (onion) and different cream cheeses. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I also agree that this recipe only needs 1 package of cream cheese. Something my husband and I have done with this is to add food coloring for holidays. So, when the Colts played the superbowl, we dyed the cream cheese blue, and for Halloween, we dyed it orange, etc. It's a fun way to make these really festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
loved it! but the bacon should definitely be partly cooked before hand, I did it both ways & the bacon is a little mushy if you dont pre-cook a little! but otherwise a really fun snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Oh my goodness! These things are amazing! I had my doubts at first but...wow. I made a bunch of them ahead of time and kept them in my fridge overnight. ( I found 1/2 brick of 8oz. cream cheese covered one pita bread.)I then cooked them in my toaster oven the day of my party. ( I had other things baking at the time so I couldn't use my oven) I baked them longer than called for in the recipe, as I like my bacon brown and slightly crisp. I accidentally forgot the last batch and the bacon burned....but even that didn't hurt these things! They were still delicious! Thanks Machenzie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Made 4 dozen, set them out and they were gone before I could get one. Made more just so I could taste. These are evil good :-) tasting and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I thought these were great! I had some friends over and they liked them but thought chive cream cheese would be even better! I agree.... but the are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States