Bacon Roll Ups I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This recipe was ok. I followed it as reccomended. I cut the pieces of bread in half instead of thirds, and gave it to my two boys for lunch (4yrs & 2yrs). They liked it very much! I don't know if I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
These are so addicting! I followed other advice and only used 1 package cream cheese and added some onion powder. I cut the crusts off Pepperidge Farm white sandwich bread, then used a rolling pin to flatten, spread with cream cheese and then cut into 1/3. My 2yr old son loved the extra cream cheese on bread. I ended up cooking for longer than suggested, closer to 30-40 minutes so the bacon crisps. Cool to almost room temperature (they are not as good hot from the oven), and watch out. We eat them as a late night snack, and then left overs for breakfast the next morning. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Quogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I read a poor review for this recipe that said it had no taste. I have to disagree. This was an extremely tasty appetizer. I found it to be very unique, although not very pleasing to look at, I'm not sure that I would serve it at a fancy party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
My husband LOVED these - he ate most of what I made! The best part is that you don't have to cook the bacon ahead of time! Definitely want to use a lean cut of bacon or they could get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
These are excellent! Here are a few suggestions: 1) Use lower fat cream cheese - it cuts calories and tastes great. Also, I didn't need two packages - one was probably enough. 2) Use a rolling pin to flatten the bread after you remove the crusts but before you cut it. It will roll up much easier! 3) If you flatten the bread, you can cut each slice of bacon into thirds. Don't be afraid to "stretch" the bacon out before you wrap it. 4) If you are looking to cut your costs or calories even further, you can cut each slice of bacon in half lengthwise before you cut it in thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I used multi grain bread, cream cheese with chives, and peppered bacon (yum yum). I'll be trying different breads and flavored cream cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
These are amazing - an absolute favorite among our friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
These are really yummy, if you love bacon, you will love these! I could not find the Pepperidge bread (I am in Canada, maybe they do not have here?) I just used plain white sandwhich bread and instead of making the cream cheese mixture I used Philly Garlic and Herb Cream Cheese, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I thought the ingredients in this were quite good, but, I didn't like the cream cheese spread warmed up. I loved it cold though as did my husband. I added sliced olives, green onions & mushrooms to the spread. I'm going to make this again, but I will put the spread on toasted bread squares then chill, then I will top with crumbled bacon and serve. Yum! I can't wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Wow, these were wonderful! I was surprised, they didn't look like they would be that good during preparation. I did cook them until the bacon was crisp. They were a big hit and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States