Bacon Roll Ups I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
This is a wonderful wonderful dish to make ahead and freeze, just like Astrid says. My husband died for these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
This is an awesome recipe! There was plenty for all. I made the roll ups and then froze them. I defrosted them in a bag on the counter for about a half hour and then popped them in the oven. They were awesome! I recommend that you make a batch just to keep on hand in case of company. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
Great recipe! I made these for two holiday parties and they got rave reviews at both. I needed two packages of bacon per loaf of sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
These were very easy to make, and I liked the fact that you could freeze them ahead of time. My husband really liked them, but I thought that they lacked a certain something. Maybe next time I may add some spices or chopped chili peppers or minced onion (haven't decided yet!)to the cream cheese mixture. Because they were so easy, could freeze ahead of time, and were pretty tasty, I will definitely make them again. Also, I had too much of the cream cheese mixture leftover! I had four slices of bread left and not enough bacon. Next time, I will buy two loaves of bread, and two pounds of bacon. I will have bread and bacon leftover, but will use all of the cream cheese mixture. (I can use leftover bread for sandwiches, bacon for breakfast, but wasn't sure what to do with leftover cream cheese mixture??). They're really nice to have a bunch in the freezer anyway. I know this is long, but lastly, I found it easier to spread the cream cheese on FIRST, then slice the bread into thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Very tasty and delicious! My husband picked out this appetizer for Christmas dinner. I thought that the cream chees spread was tasty on it's own, to be used on crackers or something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
what a great, easy, and different appetizer. I made them in advance and froze them which made the dinner party a little easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Tried this recipe out on a women's group that met at my house. I prepared the roll-ups in advance (adding finely chopped green onions, mostly the green tops) and froze them. It was very simple to pull them out on party day and have them hot and ready in a flash. I ended up broiling them, however, to get the bacon crispy enough to suit me. They were gobbled down and one by one, everyone there has now asked me for the recipe! A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
I attended a recipe party last month and the topic was "Hot Appitizer" Found this at the last minute on your site since all of my usual standbys were already being made. It was a Hit!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
Great! Everyone loved them!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
Oh How Wonderful!!! I could make a meal out of these. Brought them to a friends party, received rave reviews. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States