Bacon Roll Ups I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I personally would give this one 5 stars but because they sat around for so long and I pretty much finished them off I have to go for 4 stars. I used the peperidge farms bread which honestly is a bit pricey and it still crumbled a bit while rolling up but luckily the bacon hid most of the damage. I also found that cuting it in halves rather than thirds was much easier. Also, i actually ended up throwing some of it away because I ran out of the spread....perhaps I was too generous? Either way, I'm sure I'll make these again, even if I'm the one finishing them off. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
These turned out great. I didn't use Pepperidge Farm bread, which didn't seem to make a difference and I also added in a spinich and herb spice mix to give these a little more flavor. I served them at a party and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I made this following others' suggestions of using flavored cream cheese and flattening the bread slightly. I also cooked it for about 35-40 minutes to crisp the bacon. The final product was truly dissappointing. The bread and cream cheese just absorb all of the bacon grease during baking. Tastes like lard wrapped in bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
my family loved them.i followed some of the suggestions.flattening the bread and spreading the cream cheese layer on the whole slice of bread and then slicing into thirds.only change i made was to season cream cheese with a half a pack of dry ranch mix instead of ingredients listed .it made it easy and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I like these. The only thing I did different was to use crescent rolls, triangles cut in half lengthwise, precooked the bacon, mixed everything else together and then put about 1 teaspoon of the mixture on the larger end of the crescent and rolled up then baked until golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Fairly easy to make, but very good. These disappeared about 10 minutes after I took them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I personally wasn't really impressed with this. It seemed to be missing something, and I had a hard time getting the bacon crisped but not overdone. However, I tasted these fairly soon after they came out of the oven. I never got to taste them at room temperature because our party guests snatched them up so fast. So they must have been good. I'll try them again but may add some more seasonings to the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Everyone loved these! They were said to have the taste of a "BLT" (obviously without the L&T). I added finely chopped green onion, garlic powder & a bit of chopped fresh parsley. I also cheated quite a bit & used already cooked bacon (from market day) so that cut down on the oven time & grease and I used "Iron Kids crustless bread to save in that area as well. Thanks Austid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
These were pretty good...an easy simple appetizer for a party. I only used half the mayo suggested and they were perfectly moist. A change I would make next time would be to use less biscuit dough. Another reader suggested cutting each biscuit into fourths and rolling them out...that's what I'll try next time so they are more of a 'mini' appetizer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
INgredient combination was good. I just used two tortilla's for each roll up....Spread cream cheese mixture on first one, roll up. SPread mixture on next one...roll around the first one-then wrap with bacon. It was great and the bread was nicely crisp too. I did cook longer only for fear of undercooking bacon and it was still great! Thanks for a great starter recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States