Bacon Roll Ups I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
These are excellent! Here are a few suggestions: 1) Use lower fat cream cheese - it cuts calories and tastes great. Also, I didn't need two packages - one was probably enough. 2) Use a rolling pin to flatten the bread after you remove the crusts but before you cut it. It will roll up much easier! 3) If you flatten the bread, you can cut each slice of bacon into thirds. Don't be afraid to "stretch" the bacon out before you wrap it. 4) If you are looking to cut your costs or calories even further, you can cut each slice of bacon in half lengthwise before you cut it in thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I made this recipe for a Bunco party I hosted early last week. BIG hit! They were gone before I could get everything on the table, with several attendees wanting the recipe. I then made them as a snack treat/appetizer for Thanksgiving. Again, a BIG hit! My 9-year old nephew asked for more when they were gone, and asked that I make him is very own bag to take home with him when he left that upcoming Saturday. My other nephew's friend who was in attendance asked for the recipe to take home to his mother. Now...my friends have requested this to be made for 2 separate Christmas parties I will be attending during the month of December. Sooo...I would highly recommend this to anyone. Note: While making my nephew's "personal" order, the day after Thanksgiving, I was unable to find the Pepperidge Farm Sandwich Bread because my grocery store was out of it due to the holiday. That bread makes a definite difference...a must! Also, I spread the cream cheese spread on the bread slices BEFORE cutting the pieces of bread into 3 separate sections. This just saved some time and made the process a little easier. Thanks for an awesome, most unique appetizer!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Really good - super easy! I cut the bread in half instead of thirds and I precooked the bacon in the microwave for about 4 minutes first. Still took about 30-40 minutes to bake enough to get the bacon a little crispy but after that, they were gone! My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
These are really yummy, if you love bacon, you will love these! I could not find the Pepperidge bread (I am in Canada, maybe they do not have here?) I just used plain white sandwhich bread and instead of making the cream cheese mixture I used Philly Garlic and Herb Cream Cheese, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I thought the ingredients in this were quite good, but, I didn't like the cream cheese spread warmed up. I loved it cold though as did my husband. I added sliced olives, green onions & mushrooms to the spread. I'm going to make this again, but I will put the spread on toasted bread squares then chill, then I will top with crumbled bacon and serve. Yum! I can't wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
1 lb of bacon was not enough, I used almost 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
So, I wanted to LOVE these, but actually found them to be quite bland. I followed the recipe to a "T". I made them for our family Christmas party and they were not a hit. Everyone ate them, but no one asked for the recipe or clamored for more. They are freezer friendly and it was nice to keep the extras on hand for Christmas Day snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
These took a little long to prepare but were very good. I used fresh garlic and they turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYBAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I used multi grain bread, cream cheese with chives, and peppered bacon (yum yum). I'll be trying different breads and flavored cream cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
A delicious treat! I made these for a family Christmas party and they were gone in minutes! I had to cook them longer than the recipe said to make the bacon crispy but everything went smoothly! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States