Bacon Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This was wonderful. Instead of beef broth I used 1 cup chicken broth, and a little less than a cup of orange juice with about a quarter cup of balsamic vinegar. I stuffed the cavity with onion rather than carrots and used Paula Deen's house seasoning to season the bird. The bacon on top was to die for and my husband and I ended up fighting over it. The sauce was a little sweet with a slight citrus flavor thanks to the orange juice. I boiled it down slightly and thickened with some cornstarch and water. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This recipe ROCKS! THis is how my Mom makes it! It's true about the bacon basting the chicken. I haven't tried the beef broth part of it, I don't use that...but the bacon REALLY WORKS! I stuff mine with whatever i can find heading south in the fridge. Lemons, limes, carrots, apples, pinapple, parsley, onion, oranges...any combo will do as long as you stuff it! Thanks for the recipe, Rio...nice to see the tradition LIVE ON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Sugar & Spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This recipe is great! I altered it a little bit after reading the other reviews. I used a garlic herb seasoning by McCormick on the chicken and stuffed it with an onion cut up. I also didn't use any broth. I just used a little water in the the roasting pan. It was so moist and tender. EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I had company coming and thought I would try this recipe,I had read the reviews that the bacon didn't do much for the flavor so I decided to tenderize the breast with a piercer then attached the bacon. The chicken was awsome and the breast was juicy and flavorful. Definitely would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cartwright, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I used rosemarry instead of thyme since I didn't have any on hand and I really liked the flavor. I also added 1/4 onion, 2 cloves of garlic and a 1/4 cup of rosemarry inside the chicken with the carrots. super easy. remember if you have more than a 4lb chicken to cook it 18 to 25 minutes per pound! It must reach an internal temp of 180. I went to 185 and it was still very moist. this meal was GREAT and the bacon was awesome. However, Leaving the bacon on the top the whole time did not allow the skin to brown. we will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Olive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
We loved this recipie. Even my picky 2 yr old ate all her chicken! I tried to roast potatoes and carrots in the pan withthe chicken and they came out VERY salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This chicken had so much flavor! My boyfriend says this is the best chicken he has ever had. I crumbled the leftover bacon and mixed it with mashed potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I normally roast my chicken, breast side down to ensure a very moist bird, however, this time I had a roast with the pop up timer. I wanted to find a recipe that would help keep the breast juicy and this really seemed to do the trick. I don't know why beef broth instead of chicken broth, but I went with the chicken as that's what I normally use anyway. Of course I used more seasonings, along with a splash of white wine. The gravy was delicious and the bird was incredibly flavorful. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This was good. I really liked the bacon idea. The juices could not be used for any kind of gravy though- not very good. I stuffed the chicken with garlic and onion and it soaked up those flavors too. This is how I keep my meatloaf moist and its good to know it works on chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
What a hit! Easy to make, completely delicious. I used vegetable broth instead of beef broth, but that was my only change. It was juicy, and tender. Everyone in the family loved it. I will be printing this out to keep for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States