Bacon Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
First time making risotto and I couldn't be happier with the results. I feel like a profesional chef! This recipe is perfect. It's so creamy and comforting and delicious! Instead of mixixng the bacon in I sprinkled it on top of each individual serving. This risotto reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
A decent recipe, hearty and delicious. However when following the recipe strictly I find that it needs something to brighten up the dish, as it is quite heavy with all the butter and bacon. As many have said in their reviews about adding some veggies or herbs really helps bring out the full flavor. -1 star for the recipe not calling for this but overall a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mika1488
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Amazing risotto..I used 6 cups of light chicken stock instead as after the 5 cups the rice was still really firm. I added peas within the last 5 minutes of cooking and I added extra parmesan cheese. It was creamy and delicious. It took me 40 minutes to cook it all together but definitely worth it..even though my arm is a little sore :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mika1488

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was an "experiment" for me, since I'm not usually in the kitchen. It turned out amazingly great! My son tried it first and loved it. I later plated myself and loved the flavor. Very delicious! I believe I'll try this one again.!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
only changed slightly as I was looking for something to do with leftover ham....made as directed but added smoked ham in place of bacon. used 1/8 tsp of pepper (didn't want to overpower the delicate rice) and used no salt...thought with the butter and ham there was enough sodium in there already. I think this would be great next time with some mushrooms added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very very good. I dont cook stuff like this often, I was pleased because it was easy to make. Definitely recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Delicious. I used the bacon fat instead of butter to saute the onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written, and it was amazing! I used a chicken broth paste, and adjusted it to make sure there was not too much salt. It was creamy and cooked completely from start to finish, including chopping the onion and bacon, in 45 minutes. The best risotto I've ever had! I can't wait to add other things like bell peppers or mushrooms to this amazing base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
YUM! If you like bacon and rice, this is definitely a dish for you to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
this is SO good. I save on dishes by cooking the bacon in the same pot as the rice, and leaving it in there with the rice while it's cooking. I don't notice a huge difference in flavor (you'd think it'd be extra bacony!). this is really delicious, I hardly changed the recipe at all. I don't add parmesan but it still tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DearPenelope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States