Bacon Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was my first time making risotto, and the recipe sounded delicious. I followed the recipe almost exactly (I added in a bit more parmesean cheese), and it was very flavorful. However, it was SO salty- almost too much. I know it was primarily from the bacon, so maybe it is the type of bacon I used. I made this for my boyfriend as well, and he loves salty food probably more than he should. I have never heard him say something was too salty, and he felt that this was a bit much. I didnt add any salt and pepper to the recipe like it recommends (not on purpose, I just forgot to) and I'm glad I didn't. Not bad, just a bit heavy on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASway84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was SO delicious! I cooked the bacon in the same pan as I made this dish in, and just drained the fat out of the pan when I took the bacon out. I deglazed with couple of splashes of white wine before I added the risotto in toast and doubled the parm because we like ours cheesy. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Absolutely awesome. Simple, flavorful, filling, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wolfwyndd
Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was fantastic as is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was my first time make Risotto, and it was delicious. I used a store bought stock, and it was fine, but I can only imagine how good it would have been with home made. I did over cook it this time around, but I can not wait to try it again, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
My first batch of risotto and it was awesome! We halved it since it was just two of us. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
OMG! This was awesome. I followed the recipe exactly and it was soooo good! Next time I will add add'l ingredients to give it a different flavor but it is great just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very Good! I used 4-1/2 cups broth and 1/2 cup white wine. Also added some freshly shredded asiago cheese as I had some on hand. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
First time making risotto and I couldn't be happier with the results. I feel like a profesional chef! This recipe is perfect. It's so creamy and comforting and delicious! Instead of mixixng the bacon in I sprinkled it on top of each individual serving. This risotto reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
A decent recipe, hearty and delicious. However when following the recipe strictly I find that it needs something to brighten up the dish, as it is quite heavy with all the butter and bacon. As many have said in their reviews about adding some veggies or herbs really helps bring out the full flavor. -1 star for the recipe not calling for this but overall a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States