Bacon Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
It was so salty I can't even eat it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this risotto and my family says it was my best risotto yet ... Everyone raved about it. I followed the instructions except that I should've fried the bacon in a different pan and just used the bacon grease. Also we made bacon in the oven which we used as a garnish on every dish. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Miramar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
A big hit at our house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDrake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfforth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I didn't use any butter. Instead I put some bacon grease in when cooking the onion and garlic. And I added a poached egg and parsley to the top of the risotto when I served it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karenury
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I added a couple of handfuls of frozen peas a minute before serving. I think it adds an interesting texture and sweetness to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenury

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Jordan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Good risotto for starters like me. I used the green onions as others suggested, and I will try it with pancetta also. I would recommend using a lean bacon as much of the appeal comes in having a little firmness in with the creaminess of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was amazing. Very flavorful and really not that hard to make. My 8 year old could not get enough. I love reading everyone's recommendations for different variations and cannot wait to try it with shallots and pancetta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was my first time making risotto, and the recipe sounded delicious. I followed the recipe almost exactly (I added in a bit more parmesean cheese), and it was very flavorful. However, it was SO salty- almost too much. I know it was primarily from the bacon, so maybe it is the type of bacon I used. I made this for my boyfriend as well, and he loves salty food probably more than he should. I have never heard him say something was too salty, and he felt that this was a bit much. I didnt add any salt and pepper to the recipe like it recommends (not on purpose, I just forgot to) and I'm glad I didn't. Not bad, just a bit heavy on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASway84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was SO delicious! I cooked the bacon in the same pan as I made this dish in, and just drained the fat out of the pan when I took the bacon out. I deglazed with couple of splashes of white wine before I added the risotto in toast and doubled the parm because we like ours cheesy. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States