Bacon Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
When I first made this recipe I followed it to a tee and now I've made it so much I just kind of started to wing it. I don't typically make it with bacon anymore but I feel it is a great risotto recipe to fall back to when you aren't looking for anything too fancy. The only problem I have when I make it is that my husband seems to want it every night for the next three weeks afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmurray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
WOW!!! That's all I can say about this recipe!!! This is my first time making risotto and it was amazing! I used canned chicken broth for stock and the "cheaper" arborio rice, other than that I followed recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing! If you've never had risotto, I would recommend this one! It is definately a keeper, and I will be fixing it again real soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather in KY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
this was delicious! so much so that my hubby wants it every week!! . So I did do some different things w/ it. I first added the bacon, let it crisp up to your liking , then I added the onions, and garlic & BUTTER ( i wouldn't use as much as it said to use - I think 8tbsp would be enough for next time)- cooked it to your liking/ onions and garlic cooked thru - then I added the rice to it and let it cook together about 5minutes to let the rice toast up - then added the chicken broth enough to cover rice - until absorbed, then again and again until rice was completely opened - now I made 3 cups of rice and it used up 10 cups of chick broth so it took 40 min to cook - stirring constantly all 40 minutes.. it took some work BUT it was well worth it! so incredible.. the 2nd time I made it (the week after) I added portobello mushrooms to the bacon, onion and garlic & butter mixture and did above again... that was ALSO DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Way to salty... I will give it one more try by using low sodium chicken broth, low sodium bacon, and unsalted butter.. My wife and I had Risotto in Italy and that was enjoiable..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Pretty good as far as risotto goes, I always wanted to try a risotto with meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by claz25
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This recipe is delicious! This is the first time I've cooked risotto though I've wanted to for months, and it was much easier than I expected! The dish was so creamy, the chicken stock gave it a great base, I doubled the parmesan and added mushrooms and asparagus pieces but that's just for my taste. Will definitely be cooking this again, bacon is just such an easy meat to prepare :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
nice and creamy great recipe, worth it. I have made this a few times now and every time it has come out perfect. I have also added mushrooms and peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiWi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Excellent recipe! My only complaint would be a tad too salty - between the butter, bacon and added salt it was a tiny bit too much. So next time will either use unsalted butter or cut out the added salt at the end. Great recipe, feels like comfort food :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mudsox1
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I had to sub asiago cheese vs. parmesan cheese, but the taste of the asiago is solid. Definitely make sure you get the bacon nice and crispy as it adds great texture. Also, it doesn't say to use the same saute pan that you made the bacon in...but I think it makes sense as it builds the flavor up. All in all, would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States