Bacon Ranch Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I've made this many times for pot luck dinners or luncheons at church and it always gets good reviews from the people who like peas. (Those that don't won't even try it so they don't know what they are missing.) I don't cook the peas but just let them thaw in the fridge before I make this salad and it's always good. Make sure they are well drained before mixing with the other ingredients no matter which way you prepare them so the ranch dressing doesn't get watered down. If I don't bring this dish there are usually some disappointed folks who want to know where it is. update: for a little extra kick throw a tsp. or so of a good brand of hot sauce. I like Franks Red Hot Original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is a terrific recipe, I made it for a staff lunch at school and it disappeared right away. I added some water chestnuts for some added crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Absolutely delicious! This would be a great salad/side dish at a bbq, but I made this for my husband's lunchbox to change things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Easy Peasy! I make this frequently. Basic recipe is okay, but too much ranch flavor. I reverted to mayo, a little vinegar, salt & pepper. Tastes fantastic with a little dried or fresh dill, too. I never blanch the peas, just use them straight from the freezer. Good way to use up those giant bags of Costco peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
okay--somewhat bland, ranch dressing doesn't seem to add anything--may as well just use mayonnaise and add garlic powder and some pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Very good!! I doubled the recipe and used half mayo and half ranch, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is my "go to" salad for potlucks and ALWAYS gets raves. I follow the previous suggestions of running the peas under hot water until thawed, makes for a salad that stays crisper longer. Definitely add a boiled egg, one is enough. I have gotten the same raves whether using bottled Ranch dressing or make my own from a packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This tastes okay. After cooking the peas, they were still sort of warm when I added the ranch and cheese. I thought it tasted it fine just like that. I mixed up my own ranch dressing, so it was a little less thick and salty. I tried a little with some precooked crumbled bacon and the onion. I kind of just liked it with the 3 ingredients. Quick way to use up a bag of frozen peas I had too long. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Very good as is i also changed it up a bit by adding tomatoes and using ham instead of bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixie tension

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
wonderful! Love for pot lucks and hope for leftovers. excellent recipe. No changes, can't improve on perfection. Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States