Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This recipe was a hit at my backyard BBQ! My husband took the leftovers to work the next day and said it was even better the next day. When doubling the recipe, I would suggest buying 3 packets of the dry ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Better the 2nd day. I read 15 to 20 reviews before making this and the most common remarks/negatives about this salad were "bland" & "salty". Still, I was intrigued enough to try (thinking BLT, but BPT), so I thought long and hard about what changes would need to be made to address "bland" and "salty". Starting with the 2 boxes of pasta, I cooked it al dente. Drained and rinsed in cold water, then dumped in large bowl with ice and water to cool quickly. Drained on linen towel and refrigerated. Then I whisked together (double) 1 cup mayonnaise AND 1 cup sour cream, 2 pkgs ranch dressing mix, 2 cloves of minced garlic & 1 tsp fresh cracked pepper. Then I whisked in milk. I let this sit in the refrigerator for 2 hours because i know with powdered ranch dressings, if you try to eat the dressing immediately after mixing, it's gritty and very salty and bland. I fried 1.5 lbs of bacon and refrigerated. 2 hours before party time, I mixed the pasta with the sauce, then I crumbled the bacon adding it with the black olives, unsliced,whole grape tomatoes and sharp cheddar cheese. I have to say, I was surprised how bland the salad was. However, people really enjoyed it. In the meantime, while everyone ate, bite after bite I tried to figure out what I could have done differently. The answer came the day after the party upon eating a bowl of leftovers. Surprise! It was full of flavor! I was afraid to make this the day before worrying the bacon would be soggy and salad too dry, but it wasn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was so good! I added some chicken and doubled the sauce to it to make it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
If you like suddenly salad you'll probably love this. Not as flavorful as some we make, but still good. Followed recipe except used cherry tomatoes halved, and after a day in the fridge I removed them to replace with fresh as they were mushy. Also added a little milk for day 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This went over really well, I left out the tomatoes & olives as I knew there would be leftovers and I didn't want these to water it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNDiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Amazing the first time I made it. I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I made it I added a few things because of personal preference and it came out to be the best pasta salad I ever had. I added one avocado, a bag of real bacon bits instead of cooking the bacon, and 1/4 a pound of chopped hard salami. Everyone loved it, and someone asked for the recipe. Ill never make another pasta salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Great recipe. Big hit on 7/4. Made the recipe pretty much as written except used finely diced fresh garlic and mixed with dressing mix, regular pepper, and 2 cans of black olives (only because I love them!). FYI, if you measure the standard dry dressing package it equals 3 tablespoons, therefore, you should be using the whole package. There wasn't one spoonful left! Thanks Wilemon--very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made this for a 4th of July pitch-in after seeing the high rating, but wasn't impressed. Everything turned out okay, but it just wasn't that tasty. Won't be keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
We enjoyed this. Gets dry easily but a little milk fixes it. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I substituted the mayo and milk with light sour cream. It tastes pretty amazing. Can't wait to serve it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 693) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States